Sutherland, Knoll Repeat As Big 12 Coach, Player Of The Year

By  | 

IRVING -- For the second straight year, Texas A&M Coach Jeanne Sutherland has been named the Big 12 Conference coach of the year and senior Ashley Knoll has been tabbed as the league’s player of the year.

The Aggies repeated as Big 12 champions last week in Waco.

A&M freshman Danielle McVeigh shared Big 12 newcomer of the year honors with Baylor’s Hannah Burke. A&M sophomore Lauren Johnson joined Knoll and McVeigh on the 11-member all-conference team.

Knoll finished second at the Big 12 Championship and has posted eight top-11 finishes this season. She won three events — the Lady Tar Heel Invitational, The Las Vegas Founders Collegiate Showdown and the Central District Invitational.

McVeigh finished fourth at the Big 12 Championship has has posted five top 20 finishes. Johnson finished in the top 20 in four of the last five events.

Sutherland earned Big 12 coaching honors for the third time (1997, 2006). She also was named Southwest Conference coach of the year in 1995.

2007 Big 12 Women’s Golf Honors

All-Big 12 Team
Hannah Burke, Baylor, Fr.
Allison Martin, Baylor, Sr.
Amanda Costner, Kansas, Sr.
Elli Brown, Nebraska, Jr.
Kelly Jacques, Oklahoma, Jr.
Sarah Bradley, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Pernilla Lindberg, Oklahoma State, So.
Karin Kinnerud, Oklahoma State, So.
Ashley Knoll, Texas A&M, Sr.
Danielle McVeigh, Texas A&M, Fr.
Lauren Johnson, Texas A&M, So.

Player of the Year
Ashley Knoll, Texas A&M, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year
Danielle McVeigh, Texas A&M, Fr.
Hannah Burke, Baylor, Fr.

Coach of the Year
Jeanne Sutherland - Texas A&M