Aggie Linksters Lauded

By  | 

IRVING, Texas — Texas A&M’s Bronson Burgoon, Robert Gates and Martin Piller have been named to the All-Big 12 Men’s Golf Team, the conference office announced Wednesday.

This marks the first time in the 11-year history of the Big 12 that three Aggies were named all-conference. The only other time its happened in school annals was in 1983, when Paul Oglesby, Danny Briggs and Gary Krueger were named to the All-Southwest Conference squad.

Gates also made the team last year and is the first A&M player to twice earn all-conference honors since Ryan Palmer, who was a three-time All-Big 12 pick from 1997-99. Gates and Burgoon tied for fourth at the Big 12 Championship while Piller tied for sixth.

Oklahoma State’s Pablo Martin was named Big 12 Men’s Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, while Oklahoma’s Jesse Schutte was tabbed as Newcomer of the Year. Oklahoma State’s Mike McGraw was honored as Coach of the Year.

2007 All-Big 12 Men’s Golf Honors

All-Big 12 Team
Gary Woodland, Kansas, Sr.
Brady Schnell, Nebraska, Sr.
Tyler Leon, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State, So.
Kevin Schultz, Texas, Jr.
Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M, So.
Robert Gates, Texas A&M, Jr.
Martin Piller, Texas A&M, Jr.
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech, Sr.

Player of the Year
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year
Jesse Schutte, Oklahoma, Fr.

Coach of the Year
Mike McGraw, Oklahoma State