Aggies Lauded for Top 25 Finish; Chambless Receives Inaugural Trey Heye Memorial Award

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION --- The 2007 Texas A&M men’s swimming and diving team was lauded for its 12th straight top 25 finish at the NCAA Championships at the inaugural Aggie Swimming & Diving Banquet.

Led by Team MVP Eric Sehn, a junior diver from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, the Aggies placed 19th at the 2007 Championships. Sehn scored a school record 45 points at the NCAA meet with top five finishes in the one- and three-meter springboards and the platform event. In three trips to the NCAA Championships, Sehn has scored 108 career points.

Junior Luke Chambless received the inaugural Trey Heye Memorial Award, which is given annually to a swimmer or diver who came to A&M without a scholarship but proved himself with his work ethic, performance and teamwork. The Award is named for Trey Heye, who tragically passed away at age seven in 2000. The eldest son of Aggie graduates Paul ’87 and Mary Jo ’88 Heye of Little Rock, Ark., Trey was a talented swimmer who dreamed of swimming for the Aggies.

Chambless, from Cleburne, Texas, served as team captain in 2006-07 and was part of the Aggies’ scoring team at the Big 12 Championships for the first time. Chambless made a pair of Championship finals in the 100- and 200-breaststrokes and won the Consolation final of the 200 IM.

Senior Francisco Picasso, from Montevideo, Uruguay, received the team’s Most Improved Award. Primarily a breaststroker in his first season in 2005-06, Picasso developed into the Aggies’ top freestyle sprinter as a senior and swam on four relays. He went on to represent Uruguay at the Fina World Championships.

Sophomore Kyle Holland, from Houston, received the Aggie Heart Award. Holland, who represents the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee at the athletics department’s weekly Senior Staff meeting, had an impressive Big 12 Championships with a fifth-place finish in the 200 backstroke.

Recognized for winning Big 12 Championships were Sehn, freshman Israel Duran and junior Alejandro Jacobo. Sehn notched the seventh, eighth and ninth diving crowns of his career with his third straight sweep of the conference diving events. He is now the winningest Aggie in any sport in school history. Duran took the Big 12 crown in the 200 butterfly with a school record time, and Jacobo won the 200 breaststroke while breaking the school best previously held by his brother Alfredo.

The Aggies had four swimmers named to the Big 12’s Academic Honor Team. Jacobo earned a spot on the first team, while John Van Natta, Picasso and Ozzie Gardner were on the second team.

Team captains for 2007-08 were announced with Chambless serving for the second straight year and being joined by Gardner, Jacobo and Holland.

Most Improved: Francisco Picasso

Most Valuable: Eric Sehn

Trey Heye Memorial Award: Luke Chambless

Aggie Heart: Kyle Holland

Big 12 Champions: Israel Duran, 200 Butterfly; Alejandro Jacobo, 200 Breaststroke; Eric Sehn, 1m, 3m, 10m.

Big 12 Academic Honor Team: Alejandro Jacobo, John Van Natta, Francisco Picasso, Ozzie Gardner.

2007-08 Captains: Luke Chambless, Ozzie Gardner, Alejandro Jacobo, Kyle Holland.