Aggies Earn All-Big 12 Accolades

By  | 

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK -- Four Texas A&M softball players earned All-Big 12 accolades heading into this weekend’s Big 12 Championships in Oklahoma City, the league office announced on Thursday.

Amanda Scarborough was named Co-Big 12 Pitcher of the Year, sharing the award with Oklahoma’s Lauren Eckermann. Scarborough joined Megan Gibson and Sharonda McDonald on the All-Big 12 first team. Third baseman Jamie Hinshaw was selected as a member of the All-Big 12 second team.

The All-Big 12 honors are selected by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

“I am very pleased to see our kids earning some recognition for their efforts on the playing field,” A&M head coach Jo Evans said. “These players work extremely hard and are certainly deserving of the all-conference honors.”

With the pitcher of the year award, Scarborough becomes the first player in Big 12 history to earn player, pitcher and freshman of the year accolades. The junior from Magnolia, Texas has a 20-6 record this season with a 1.16 ERA. She’s struck out 177 batters in 168.2 innings pitched. Scarborough is also a Top 10 finalist for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year.

“It is quite an honor for Amanda to have been selected as the Big 12’s Pitcher of the Year,” Evans continued. “Amanda has been dedicated to improving every aspect of her game. She works hard day in and day out and it is nice to see her hard work recognized.”

This marks Gibson’s third career All-Big 12 award, second first team honor. The Spring, Texas native holds a .411 batting average and leads the team in home runs (10) and walks (48). Over the course of the season, Gibson has pitched, played first base and patrolled the outfield for the Aggies.

McDonald has been an All-Big 12 selection all four years of her career at A&M. After being named Big 12 Freshman of the Year in 2004, McDonald went on to earn Big 12 All-Tournament team honors and first and second team honors in 2005 and 2006. The senior from Houston, Texas has a .362 batting average on the season with a team-leading 32 stolen bases.

Along with Scarborough and Gibson, Hinshaw also receives her third All-Big 12 accolade. The junior from Missouri City, Texas has started every game since stepping foot on campus. Hinshaw holds a .287 batting average and has driven in 32 runs for the Aggies.

In addition to the awards for on-the-field play, five Aggies were honored for their hard work in the classroom. Second baseman Joy Davis, pitcher Christina Smith, outfielder Jami Lobpries and Scarborough earned Academic All-Big 12 first team honors while pitcher Lisa Gorzycki made the second team.

The No. 4-seed Aggies are set to open Big 12 Championship play on Friday at 2 p.m. when they take on the No. 5-seed Nebraska Cornhuskers. Fans can listen live on and in Bryan/College Station on Sports Radio 1150 The Zone.

2007 Big 12 Conference Awards

Player of the Year: Norrelle Dickson, Oklahoma, 3B, Sr., Orange, Calif./El Modena

Co-Pitchers of the Year: Lauren Eckermann, Oklahoma, RHP, Jr., Brenham, Texas/Temple JC

Amanda Scarborough, Texas A&M, P/1B, Jr., Magnolia, Texas/Magnolia

Freshman of the Year: Kirsten Shortridge, Baylor, P/RF Fr., Keller, Texas/Keller

Defensive Player of the Year: Megan Willis, Texas, C, Sr., Chandler, Ariz./Corona del Sol

Coach of the Year: Ehren Earleywine, Missouri


Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School

Lisa Ferguson, Baylor P Sr. Fort Worth, Texas/Pascal

Chelsi Lake, Baylor C/DP Sr. Keller, Texas/Keller

Ashley Monceaux, Baylor 1B Sr. Tucson, Ariz./Pima CC

Brette Reagan, Baylor 3B So. Magnolia, Texas/Tomball

Kirsten Shortridge, Baylor P/RF Fr. Keller, Texas/Keller

Jen Bruck, Missouri P Jr. St. Peters, Mo./Fort Zumwalt West

Amanda Renth, Missouri 1B Jr. Mascoutah, Ill./Mascoutah

Ashley DeBuhr, Nebraska P Sr. Beatrice, Neb./Beatrice

Norrelle Dickson, Oklahoma 3B Sr. Orange, Calif./El Modena

Lauren Eckermann, Oklahoma RHP Jr. Brenham, Texas/Temple JC

Amber Flores, Oklahoma OF Fr. Calexico, Calif./Southwest

Susan Ogden, Oklahoma DP Jr. Sherman, Texas/Sherman

Samantha Ricketts, Oklahoma 1B So. San Jose, Calif./Archbishop Mitty

Shanel Scott, Oklahoma State OF Sr. Enid, Okla./Enid

Courtney Totte, Oklahoma State C Sr. Lawton, Okla./Eisenhower

Megan Gibson, Texas A&M UTL Jr. Spring, Texas/Spring

Sharonda McDonald, Texas A&M OF Sr. Houston, Texas/Dobie

Amanda Scarborough, Texas A&M P/1B Jr. Magnolia, Texas/Magnolia

Ashley Parker, Texas Tech OF Sr. Lindale, Texas/Lindale


Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School

Miriam Romero, Baylor OF Sr. Douglas, Ariz./Pima CC

Alex Johnson, Iowa State INF/C Fr. Raymore, Mo./Raymore-Peculiar

Stevie Crisosto, Kansas SS So. Palo Cedro, Calif./Foothill

Kassie Humphreys, Kansas P Sr. Glendale, Ariz./Cactus

Amanda Jobe, Kansas OF Fr. Shawnee, Kan./Shawnee Mission Northwest

Micaela Minner, Missouri OF Jr. Sanger, Texas/Sanger

Julie Silver, Missouri OF Fr. Chersterfield, Mo./Chesterfield

Crystal Carwile, Nebraska INF So. Chino, Calif./Don Antonio Lugo

Molly Hill, Nebraska P So. Wayne, Neb./Wayne

Haley Long, Nebraska OF So. Brenham, Texas/Blinn CC

Traci Dickenson, Oklahoma 2B So. Placentia, Calif./El Dorado

Jamie Fox, Oklahoma OF Sr. Lafayette, La./Acadiana

Meagan Denny, Texas P Jr. Crowley, Texas/Crowley

Shannon Thomas, Texas 2B/OF So. Antioch, Calif./Freedom

Tallie Thrasher, Texas DP Fr. Southlake, Texas/Carroll

Jacqueline Williams, Texas 1B/C Sr. Arlingtion, Texas/South Grand Prairie

Megan Willis, Texas C Sr. Chandler, Ariz./Corona del Sol

Jamie Hinshaw, Texas A&M 3B Jr. Missouri City, Texas/Elkins

Jennifer Corkin, Texas Tech UTL Jr. Avondale, Ariz./Westview