Aggie Women Add Big XII Outdoor Title To Indoor Crown

By  | 

Oklahoma men's and Texas A&M women's teams won the 2007 Big 12 Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Ed Weir Stadium on the campus of the University of Nebraska.

The Sooners and Aggies both claim their first Big 12 outdoor titles with 140 and 110.50 points, respectively. OU's highest finish prior to this season was fourth in 1998. A&M's best showing on the women's side was a second-place tally one year ago.

Three Oklahoma athletes captured individual crowns to lead the team in scoring. Senior Kevin Bookout earned the first shot put title in Big 12 history for the Sooners. He recorded a toss of 19.11m (62-08.5). Teammate Shardae Boutte won the triple jump with a finish of 16.25m (53-03.75). Junior Marcus Pugh's win in the 100-meter dash (10.30) marked the fourth time in the last five years OU has won the event.

The Aggies also won three competitions. Junior Simone Facey was one of the highlights of the women's race, setting a Big 12 Championships record with a 22.49 to win the 200-meter dash. The time was the fastest in collegiate competition this year. She also won the 100-meters title (11.19) - one of three A&M runners in the top five. The Texas A&M women's 4x100 relay squad set a Big 12 Championship and Ed Weir Stadium record with a time of 43.67.

The competitions saw over 300 NCAA regional-qualifying marks. In the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase a Colorado student-athlete won for the second straight year with senior Billy Nelson posting a time of 8:47.89. CU has won the event four times in league history. Teammate Brent Vaughn grabbed the 5,000-meter crown (14:21.46), his third Big 12 outdoor title overall. The 1,500-meter run was captured by junior Leonel Manzano (Texas) at 3:41.60. It is the second time in the last three seasons he has been the winner. Baylor won the 4x100 relay with a mark of 39.65.

The men's 110-meter hurdles saw three of the top eight finishers from Texas Tech, including champion Marlon Odom (13.78). The senior has won three straight seasons. Freshman LeJerald Betters gave Baylor its seventh consecutive win in the 400-meter dash (45.33). Senior Reggie Witherspoon is the third BU student-athlete to win the 200-meters (20.57).

The pole vault title was captured by freshman Jordan Scott (Kansas). He tied the Big 12 meet record with a throw of 5.55m (18-02.50). Texas Tech athletes won the 400-meter hurdles (Bryan Scott, 49.79) and 800-meter run (Zach Glavash, 1:47.99). Senior Jamie Robinson of Tech won the men's javelin with a throw of 67.91m (222-10).

For the women, sophomore Jenny Barringer (Colorado) was the 3,000-meter steeplechase winner for the first time with a 10:19.34 mark. Texas Tech sophomore Sally Kipyego became the first Red Raider to win the 1,500 (4:21.57) and 5,000-meter (16:43.01) runs. She has won five Big 12 indoor and outdoor crowns in her two seasons.

Junior Ashley Brown is the first Jayhawk to capture the 100-meter hurdles race after a school-record of 13.27. Senior Hannah Warfield-Ruffatto (49.10m / 161-01) earned the first women's javelin conference crown for Colorado since 1987. Texas standout Chauntae Bayne was the winner in the 400-meter with a time of 52.71. Freshman Nichole Jones is Baylor's first runner to win the 800-meters (2:05.89).

Senior Sheryl Morgan won the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 57.04. Senior Michelle Carter of Texas won the shot put for the third consecutive season with a toss of 17.15 meters (56-03.25).

Eleven of the Big 12 schools will compete next at NCAA Midwest Regionals at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, while the University of Missouri will host Mideast Regionals in Columbia, Mo. The 2007 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships will be at the Alex G. Spanos Sports Complex on the Sacramento State University campus from June 6-9.