NCBWA Announces 16 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists

By  | 

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the list of 16 semifinalists for the 2007 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball. The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2007 winner will be announced just prior to the first game of the College World Series, with a press conference slated for Friday, June 15, at 10 a.m. (CDT) at the Omaha Press Club.

The 16 candidates hail from eight different conferences, with top-ranked Vanderbilt, No. 4 Florida State and No. 8 Virginia being the only
schools to produce multiple semifinalists. The list includes six
pitchers, eight position players and two utility players.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State
University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who
died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's
most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the
field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were
exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida
State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a
career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college
ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and
Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The
baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of
Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the
Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four -
along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school
receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 108th year of
existence in 2007. The organization has long been a vital force in the
baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the
pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay-St.
Petersburg area and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed
to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only
college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death.
Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin
Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex
Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez,
Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993;
Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris
Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss,
LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech,
2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey
Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004;
Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; and Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006.


Pos. Name, School
Dustin Ackley, 1B, North Carolina
Pedro Alvarez, 3B, Vanderbilt
Sean Doolittle, P-1B-DH, Virginia
Barry Enright, P, Pepperdine
Bryan Henry, P, Florida State
Kellen Kulbacki, OF, James Madison
Matt LaPorta, 1B, Florida
Brian Matusz, P, San Diego
Adam Mills, P, Charlotte
David Price, P, Vanderbilt
Kyle Russell, OF, Texas
Joe Savery, P-1B, Rice
Blake Stouffer, 3B, Texas A&M
Tony Thomas, Jr., 2B, Florida State
Jacob Thompson, P, Virginia
Brett Wallace, 1B, Arizona State