No Triple Crown Winner This Year

By  | 

BALTIMORE (AP) - Curlin, the third-place finisher in the
Kentucky Derby, won a tight stretch duel with Derby champion Street
Sense to win the 132nd Preakness Stakes. Hard Spun was a
well-beaten third.
Curlin, who did not race as a two-year-old, paid
eight-dollars-80 cents for a two-dollar ticket. The winner jockey
was Robby Albarado, who outrode Calvin Borel aboard Kentucky Derby
winner Street Sense.
For the 29th straight year there is no Triple Crown winner.
Affirmed is the last Triple Crown winner in 1978.