Sam Houston State Leads Southland In Academic Honor Roll Selections For Third Year In A Row

By  | 

FRISCO -- For the third year in a row, Sam Houston State University
has won the unofficial Southland Conference academic Commissioner's Cup by placing more student-athletes on the CapitalOne Bank / SLC Commissioner's 2007 Academic Honor Roll.

A total of 1,141 student-athletes were recognized on the honor roll
announced Friday by the league office. Presented by CaptialOne Bank, the honor roll recognizes student-athletes who competed in league championship sports during the spring semester and maintained a 3.0 semester grade point average while enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours.

Sam Houston State led all conference universities with 159 student-athletes meeting the honor roll requirements. The Bearkats put the most
student-athletes on the Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll for the third consecutive year.

Five other Southland universities placed more than 100 student-athletes on the list. Texas State-San Marcos was runner-up behind SHSU with 118, followed by Stephen F. Austin 116, McNeese State 115, Southeastern Louisiana 107, Northwestern State 106, Texas-Arlington 76, Central Arkansas and Texas-San Antonio 75, Nicholls State 69, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 63, and Lamar 62.

"To win three consecutive Southland Commissioner's Cup all-sports
championships and combine that with leading the league in Commissioner's Academic honor roll selections at the same time is a truly remarkable achievement," Sam Houston director of athletics Bobby Williams said. "That shows that while winning on the playing field, our student-athletes have been winning in the class room as well."

Four of the 159 Bearkats on the honor roll earned special recognition this season as the Southland's Academic Student-Athlete of the Year in their sport. These winners included Ryan Bright (men's basketball), Lata Assudani (women's tennis), Jennie Sewell (women's track and field), and Luke Prihoda (baseball).

Wade Pate, senior quarterback for the Bearkat football team, was named as the winner of the Southland Conference F. L. McDonald post graduate scholarship after graduating in December, 2006, at the top of his class with a perfect 4.0 overall grade point average.

A total of 24 Bearkats were voted as either first or second team Academic All-Southland Conference during the 2006-07 athletic year. Eighteen others received Academic All-SLC honorable mention recognition. To be nominated for Academic All-Southland, a student-athlete must be a starter or top reserve, compile a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or higher, and be in their second season of athletic competition at their university.

"This achievement is a testament to the hard work of our student-athletes,
our coaches, and our staff," Williams said. "Special congratulations go to
Chris Thompson, our associate athletic director for student services, and
her staff for their tremendous work with the athletes and their academics
and to our coaches for recruiting quality student-athletes."

While winning the Southland Conference Commissioner's Cup again in 2006-07,
Sam Houston State's athletes also equaled their all-time best cumulative
department semester grade point average. During both the fall and spring
semesters this year, the more than 300 Bearkat student-athletes produced a
2.90 overall GPA.

Each of the past seven semesters, Sam Houston State athletes have posted
GPAs higher than 2.75, a mark higher than the university's general student
population. Bearkat athletes have compiled GPAs above 2.30 or higher the
last 30 consecutive semesters (since 1992-93).

"To me, winning both the Southland Commissioner's Cup and placing the most
student-athletes on the SLC Honor Roll defines the term 'student-athlete',"
Williams said. "We set goals for academic success coupled with winning on
the playing field. Academics is a vital component of the athletic
experience. Winning on the field also is a vital part of that same

*Academic All-SLC first or second team
**Academic All-SLC
& SLC Student-Athlete of Year
#Academic honorable mention All-SLC

Adam Albright
William Alvis
Aaron Bazan
Jonathan Carrizales
Aaron Cook
Jim Bob Farris
Jeremy Holzbach*
Jacob Howard
Tyson Mire
Stephen Price
Luke Prihoda**
Brandon Pugh
Todd Sebek
Casey Springer#
Bobby Verbick*
Brandon Yates

Ryan Bright**
Barkley Falkner
Ryan Griffin*
Shamir McDaniel*
Jejuan Plair*
Reggie Rawlins
Jeremy Thomas*
Aaron Wade*

Ayo Akindona*
Travis Best
David Branch
Jerod Brown
Josh Brown
Brandon Bruce
Nolan Bucek
Phillip Daugherty
John Dirk
Ryan Dretke
Dustin Dziuk
Robert Fairchild
Stanley Garrett
Jonathan Goree
Lance Hancock*
Jordan Heinrich
Brett Hicks#
Ryan Hinjoza
Aaron Ivey*
Tony Jones
Ellis Knight
Braylon Linnear
Blake Martin
Brock McDaniel
Eric Mikolajchak*
Josh Moore
Chadd Oliphant
Hendrix Otalor
Curtis Parks#
Wade Pate
Hunter Schmidt
Jeff Sparks
Brandon Villanueva
Brennan Williams
Jordan Williams

Stewart Bannatyne
Chris Carson
Brandon Frankhouser#
Robert Gwin
John Hurley
Benjamin Smith
Beau Willis

Matt Adkisson
Dexter Cole
Chris Cralle
Lane Dennis
Keith Edmond
Jonathon Harris#
Dustin Joubert*
Bryce Miller
Morten Munkholm
Chris Nelson
Joshua Schwartz
Jesse Smith
Jose Umanzor

*Academic All-SLC first or second team
**Academic All-SLC
& SLC Student-Athlete of Year
#Academic honorable mention All-SLC

Brittany Brooks
Morgan Collum#
Lydia Gonzales
Britney Harris
Sarah Hilton
Kendall Homesley
Erica Parker
Bo Warm
Adah Wells#

Emily Bartholet
Ashley Brown
Amanda Carmona
Kate Hathaway
Jennifer Heinz*
Wendy Joyner*
Shabnam Saran

Sarah Beecroft
Kelli Cain
Tofie Chavez
Jillian Eaker
Brittany Foerstner#
Meighann Foulks
Yoanna Garcia
Kirsten Gurney
Chelsea Janke#
Charity Lett#
Mary MacGregor#
Monica Madden
Susana Murgia
Alison Oakland
Danielle Porth#
Allyson Sargeant
Melissa Sauceda
Nikki Swearingin
Nicolle Wiggins
Ashley Zendt

Megan Beard
Shalayne Blythe
Lauren Burns
Mandy Collier *
Tanya Hooser
Amanda Lindsey
Stephanie Mosley*
Ashley Nelson
Kendra Spivey #
Ashley Spurlin

Lata Assudani**
Lauren Janak
Ashley Longoria
Patricia Manzur
Emma McDougall
Brooke Mills*
Irina Sotnikova*

Jackie Blanchard
Shannon Brown*
Natalia Clark
Bridget Costello
Kristi Hermes
Elke Horn
Tara Jarvis
Benita Jones
Jessica Jones
Karen Klintoe#
Tiana Lee#
Regina Offord*
Whitney Rister
Jennie Sewell**
Tiffany Singleton
Ebonee Stephens
Darnesha Stonum
Erika Wright
Nicole Zerson

Anna Ferguson#
Brittney Humbach
Megan McNamara#
Katie Phillips
Melissa Sims
Rhae Walderman*
Shamira Washington
Cynthia Yarotsky