Beavers Repeat At Omaha

By  | 

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) - For the second straight year the Oregon State
Beavers are champions at the College World Series.
The Beavers eliminated North Carolina 9-to-3 as they beat the
Tar Heels two straight nights in the best-of-three final. Oregon
State also beat North Carolina in last year's final.
Oregon State is the first team since L-S-U ten years ago to
repeat as national champions.
Darwin Barney's two-run homer gave the Beavers the lead in the
second inning of the decisive game. Jordan Lennerton added his
second homer in two nights, a two-run shot in the eighth.
Jorge Reyes, who was the winning pitcher in Saturday
night's Game One win, was named the C-W-S most outstanding player.