Kats To Add Quartet To Hall Of Honor

By  | 

HUNTSVILLE - Formation of the SH Association, an umbrella organization to include both the Sam Houston Lettermen's Association and the new SHSU Women's Letter Association has been announced by Bearkat director of athletics Bobby Williams.

Organization officers and members will be recognized on "SH Day" at the Bearkats' Homecoming football game with Northwestern State at Bowers Stadium on Saturday, Oct. 20. The SH Association will hold the annual Hall of Honor induction ceremonies at a dinner event in December.

Basketball players David Amaya and Scott Horstman, golfer Jeff Bellnap, and baseball player Chris Burton will be inducted into the men's Hall of Honor. For the first time, the 2007 induction ceremonies also will include former women athletes to be selected by the executive committee of the new Sam Houston Women's Letter Association. The list of the first inductees to the women's Hall of Honor will be announced later this summer.

"The formation of the SH Association to serve as an umbrella organization for both the men's and women's letter winners groups is an exciting step forward for the Bearkat athletic program," Williams said. "The Lettermen's Hall of Honor inductions have been a highlight of our annual athletic calendar. Now, with our new Women's Letter Association, talented student-athletes who have brought glory and attention to our program through their accomplishments also will be recognized. We deeply appreciate the hard work by the officers and members of both organizations to make this possible."

Since the Sam Houston Lettermen's Association initiated its Hall of Honor in 1971, 148 former Bearkat men from the sports of football, basketball, baseball, golf, and track and field have been inducted. Members of the Women's Letter Association executive committee will select their first inductees from a listing of outstanding performers from basketball, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, volleyball and track and field.

Each of the four men's inductees for 2007 was an all-conference performer for the Bearkats and played on a championship team during their Sam Houston State careers.

David Amaya earned first team All-Southland Conference honors after leading Sam Houston to its first Southland Conference men's basketball title in 2000. He was a second-team All-SLC pick as a junior in 1999. Amaya ranks sixth in all-time Bearkat basketball scoring with 1,445 career points.

Scott Horstman was a two-time All-Lone Star Conference performer and ranks as Sam Houston's all-time career leader in assists with 813 in his four years of play between 1981 and 1984. Horstman helped led the Kats to the conference crown in SHSU's final year in the Lone Star Conference in 1981.

Chris Burton was All-Gulf Star Conference in 1986 and 1987 and All-Southland Conference in 1988 and 1989, rolling up a .336 career batting average. He helped lead the Bearkats to conference titles in 1986, 1987, and 1989 and to two NCAA Division I regional playoff appearances.

Jeff Bellnap led the Bearkat golf team to the 1990 Southland Conference
title, winning the Southland Conference individual medalist championship and finishing 13th in the NCAA regional. He was a two-time All-SLC performer and earned NCAA Division II All-America honors in 1986.

"Congratulations to the 2007 inductees for the men's Hall of Honor. This is truly an outstanding group," Williams said. "We look forward to announcing the women's honorees soon. A lot of hard work and time has gone into organizing the new Women's Letter Association and bringing the them together with the Sam Houston Lettermen's Association under the umbrella of the SH Association. We are grateful for each person's contributions to both organizations."