Aggie Soccer Set to Begin Fall Workouts

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION -- The 2007 Texas A&M soccer team reported back to College Station on Tuesday for a team dinner on the eve of their first practice session. The Aggies will hold two practice sessions on Wednesday and Friday (10 a.m. and 7 p.m.) and a single session on Thursday (7 p.m.).

“The first day of practice is always one of the most anticipated dates on our players’ summer calendar,” A&M head coach G Guerrieri said. “I know they are excited and so are we about getting the new year kicked-off.”

A&M will close out the opening week of training with their fist ever “Aggie Soccer 101” at 3 p.m. on Saturday followed by the Maroon vs. White game at 7:30 p.m. at the Aggie Soccer Stadium.

“This is a fun day for our great supporters,” Guerrieri continued. “They get a chance to meet, greet and eat with the players during Aggie Soccer 101 and then they get a sneak peak of the team on the field in the evening’s Maroon vs. White game.”

The Aggies return 11 starters and 15 letterwinners from a 2006 squad that went 17-6-1, 9-1-0 in league play and captured their third-consecutive Big 12 regular season title. The ‘06 trophy marks A&M’s ninth in the league’s 11 seasons. The Ags once again left their mark on the national scene, finishing the season ranked No. 5 and earning their 12th trip to the NCAA Tournament, eighth admission into the NCAA “Sweet Sixteen” and third appearance in the NCAA “Elite Eight.”

Two of A&M’s returning starters, senior forward Ashlee Pistorius and senior defender Paige Carmichael were recently named to the to the 2007 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List. Players are selected to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

A top-flight class of seven new freshmen join the Aggies’ ‘07 roster, Kelly Dyer (Germantown, Tenn.), Whitney Hooper (Houston, Texas), Rachel Shipley (Plano, Texas), Kat Armstrong (Dime Box, Texas), Inge Harding (Dripping Springs, Texas), Christy End (St. Louis, Mo.), Sarah Pierson (Missouri City, Texas).

A&M is picked to win the 2007 Big 12 title for the fourth consecutive season according to a vote of the league’s coaches.

Over the course of the 2007 season, the Aggies will face nine teams who advanced to the NCAA Tournament last year. Of those nine teams, five advanced to the “Sweet Sixteen” with two moving on to the “Elite Eight” and North Carolina eventually capturing the 2006 Women’s College Cup crown.