Loux, Stilson Named Golden Spikes Award Semifinalists

By  | 

DURHAM, N.C. -- Texas A&M pitchers Barret Loux and John Stilson are among the 30 semifinalists for the 2010 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award, the organization announced Tuesday. The award is given to the top amateur baseball player in the country.

The list of 30 players will be narrowed to five finalists on Tuesday, June 8, en route to the announcement of this year's winner on Tuesday, July 13. The 2010 GSA will be awarded live at MLB's All-Star FanFest in Anaheim as part of a production by Major League Baseball and MLBAM. Online footage of the event will air live exclusively at GoldenSpikesAward.com.

Loux, a first-team All-Big 12 selection, enters the postseason with a 10-2 record and a 2.53 ERA. The junior from Houston leads the Big 12 and ranks near the top of the national charts with 126 strikeouts, and is holding opposing hitters to a .196 average. Loux has started all 15 series openers for the Aggies in 2010.

Stilson, the Big 12’s Newcomer of the Year and a first-team honoree, is one of the top closers in the country. A native of Texarkana, Stilson is 8-1 with a 0.87 ERA and nine saves this spring. In 31 appearances, he has fanned 106 hitters and allowed seven earned runs in 72.1 innings of work, and is holding batters to a .172 average.

The Aggies are one of just four schools with at least two players on the list, joining Texas (3), Georgia Tech (2) and Cal State Fullerton (2). For more information, fans can visit goldenspikesaward.com.

Texas A&M (40-19-1) opens NCAA Regional play on Friday when the Aggies face FIU (36-23) in the opening round of the Coral Gables Regional. First pitch at Alex Rodriguez Park is set for 11 a.m. (CDT) and the game will be televised nationally by ESPNU HD.


Name, Class, Pos., School

Trevor Bauer, Sophomore, RHP, UCLA
Daniel Bibona, Senior, LHP, UC Irvine
Gary Brown, Junior, IF, Cal State Fullerton
Michael Choice, Junior, OF, Texas-Arlington
Christian Colon, Junior, IF, Cal State Fullerton
Zack Cox, Sophomore, IF/RHP, Arkansas
Derek Dietrich, Junior, IF, Georgia Tech

Chris Duffy, Senior, IF/OF, Central Florida
Yasmani Grandal, Junior, C, Miami (Fla.)
Cole Green, Junior, RHP/OF, Texas
Bryce Harper, Freshman, C, Southern Nevada
Paul Hoilman, Junior, RHP/IF, East Tennessee State
Danny Hultzen, Sophomore, LHP/IF, Virginia
Taylor Jungmann, Sophomore, RHP, Texas

Barret Loux, Junior, RHP, Texas A&M
Zack MacPhee, Sophomore, IF, Arizona State
Mike McGee, Junior, RHP/OF, Florida State
Deck McGuire, Junior, RHP, Georgia Tech
Anthony Meo, Sophomore, RHP, Coastal Carolina
Hunter Morris, Junior, IF/OF, Auburn
Drew Pomeranz, Junior, LHP, Mississippi
Anthony Rendon, Sophomore, IF, Rice

Chance Ruffin, Junior, RHP, Texas
Chris Sale, Junior, LHP, Florida Gulf Coast
Rob Segedin, RS Sophomore, IF/RHP, Tulane
John Stilson, Sophomore, RHP/IF, Texas A&M
Kolbrin Vitek, Junior, IF/RHP, Ball State
Alex Wimmers, Junior, RHP, Ohio State
Asher Wojciechowski, Junior, RHP, The Citadel
Phil Wunderlich, Junior, IF/OF, Louisville

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus