Ag Men Win Cross Country Meet

By  | 

College Station – David Hebert led a winning effort by the Aggie men on Saturday at the Penberthy Intramural field as he placed third in the Texas A&M Invitational.

With a score of 42 points the Aggies earned a fifth consecutive team title as they held off a strong challenge from Lamar, who posted 52 points for second place. Rounding out the top five teams were Texas-Arlington (102), Houston (137) and TCU (148).

The rest of the men’s field included UT-Pan American in sixth place with 154 points followed by Sam Houston State (174), Texas A&M-Commerce (181), Texas A&M Alumni (247) and Texas A&M International (276).

On the women’s side Rice captured the team title with 30 points as Marissa Daniels claimed the individual title as well for the Owls. Daniels covered the 5,000-meter course in 17:19 while teammate Allison Pye finished third in 17:42.

Texas totaled 62 points for second place as the Texas A&M women took third with 71. Lamar (85) and Texas-Pan American (180) rounded out the top five. The rest of the field included TCU (181), Texas-Arlington (188), Sam Houston State (212), Houston (214), Prairie View A&M (308), Texas A&M-Commerce (336) and Texas A&M International (355).

For the second time this season Hebert had to contend with the combination of international talent presented by TCU’s Festus Kigen and Lamar’s Francis Kasagule. Kigen, the defending champion of the Texas A&M Invitational, shared the lead with Hebert through a majority of the 8,000-meter race with Kasagule in tow.

In the late stages, though, a stronger kick by the two African runners produced another third-place effort for Hebert, matching the same finish he sported at the Baylor Twilight meet during the end of August.

Kigen wasn’t able to defend his individual title, though, as Kasagule crossed finish line in 24:11 with Kigen runner-up in 24:15. Hebert, within striking distance all the way to the end of the race, clocked 24:18 for third.

Houston’s Steve Magness led the next batch of finishers, crossing the finish line in 24:27 for fourth place. Following were Lamar’s Samuel Kosgei (24:32) and Kyle Miller of Texas (24:45) in fifth and sixth place.

Texas A&M’s winning squad included Kevin McNab placing eighth in his debut race for the Aggies, running a time of 24:34. Kevin Ondrasek, who is a former prep winner in the Invitational, finished 10th in the race with a time of 25:03.

Joe Sauvageau and Andrew Montes rounded out the A&M scoring five as they placed 12th and 13th, respectively, in 25:11 and 25:13.

Sarah Balfour led the Aggie women’s effort by placing fifth with a time of 17:49 with Christina Munoz taking 12th in 18:26. The scoring squad for A&M was completed with Leigh Berger in 17th (18:38), Brenna Williamson in 20th (18:52) and Alie Cornell placing 32nd (19:17).

Last year’s champion, A&M’s Merideth Snow, ran unattached for this meet and placed 10th with a time of 18:03.

Others running for the Texas A&M women included Elizabeth Slaughter (33rd, 19:18); Kirsten Brown (46th, 19:50); Kassie Moore (50th, 20:00); Emilie Fischer (55th, 20:09); Frances Hearn (67th, 20:51); and Kathryn Hearn (72nd, 21:07).

The rest of the Aggie men’s squad included Logan Sherman (20th, 25:43); Brian Lind (21st, 25:45); Matt Ross (24th, 25:56); Graham Northcutt (26th, 25:58); Dusty Langwell (36th, 26:32) and Ben Schulz (45th, 26:55).

J.P. Machemehl led a Texas A&M Alumni group in the race, placing 19th in 25:39 while Alex Moore finished 34th in 26:26.

High School Recap

Running a time of 15:01 in the 5,000-meter seeded boy’s race earned Southlake Carroll’s Colby Lowe a third consecutive individual title at the Texas A&M Invitational. Lowe finished well ahead of teammate C.J. Brown, who was runner-up in 15:38.

Meanwhile, state-ranked No. 1 The Woodlands achieved the team title, after losing by a point last year, as they bettered Georgetown 52-91 in team scoring. Defending champion Southlake Carroll finished third with 100 points as Kingwood placed fourth with 109 points. The Woodlands were paced by Reed Connor, who finished third with a 15:41 clocking.

Cinco Ranch entered the girls’ seeded race as the top seed, ranked No. 3 in the state, and they lived up to that billing with a team championship. Cinco Ranch scored 52 points for the victory as A&M Consolidated claimed runner-up honors with 76 points. Southlake Carroll was a very close third with 79 points with Seven Lakes (93) and Georgetown (134) rounding out the top five schools.

Brazoswood’s Lauren Smith covered the 5,000-meter course in 18:12 to win the individual seeded title. Southlake Carroll’s Tara Upshaw ran 18:34 for seconds with Brittainy Robertson of Alvin third in 18:36.