A&M Lands Three on All-SEC Volleyball Team

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M opposite hitter Alisia Kastmo and middle blocker Lindsey Miller have been named to the 2012 All-SEC Volleyball First Team, and Aggie setter Allie Sawatzky has been named to the second team, the conference office announced today.

It is the second consecutive year seniors Kastmo and Miller have been first-team all-conference selections, as both were members of the All-Big 12 first team as juniors. Sawatzky, a junior, was honorable mention All-Big 12 and a member of the Big 12 All-Freshman Team in 2010.

Kastmo, from Tyler, Texas, leads the Aggies and ranks in the top 10 in the SEC with 3.59 kills, 0.26 aces and 4.08 points per set for the full season. She also is the team leader and ranked in the top 10 in the league with 3.66 kills, 0.25 aces and 4.14 points per set in conference matches only.

Kastmo has started every match this season and has posted double-digit kills in a team-leading 22 of 29 matches, including four matches in which she has registered 20 or more kills. Kastmo, who has taken team-high honors in kills in 17 matches and in points in 14 contests, also has registered double figures in both kills and digs in a match nine times this season.

Miller leads the Aggies and is fourth in the SEC with a .360 hitting percentage. She ranked second in the league with a .372 hitting percentage in conference matches only. From Katy, Texas, Miller also leads A&M and is in the top seven in the league with 1.06 blocks per set for the full season and a 0.99 block average in conference matches only.

Miller, who has started every match (121) in her career and has led the Aggies in total blocks, blocks per set and hitting percentage in the season-ending stats every year in her career, has taken team-high honors in blocks in 20 of 29 matches this year.

Offensively, Miller recently became the 16th player in A&M history to post 1,000 career kills, a feat completed with her team-leading 20th kill in the Aggies’ 3-2 victory at Ole Miss in the regular-season finale on Friday. She has posted double-figure kills in 13 matches this year and is averaging 2.67 kills per set for the full season and averaged 2.68 kills per set in conference matches only.

Sawatzky directs an A&M offense that ranks in the top 15 in the nation and leads the SEC in kills and assists per set in all matches and in conference matches only. The Manitoba, Canada, native averages 10.34 assists per set and is third in the league with 10.81 assists in conference matches only. She tallied a career-high 66 assists in the 3-2 victory at Tennessee on Nov. 21, the second most assists in a match this season by a player representing the SEC.

The attacking-minded lefty setter leads all SEC setters with 1.83 kills per set for the full season, having posted double figures in kills in three matches. She also averages 2.09 digs per set and is second among A&M players with 11 double-doubles.

The All-SEC first and second teams are nine-member teams voted on by the league coaches, while the freshmen team has seven. No ties were broken. First team selections were led by Florida with four members, followed by Texas A&M with two.

Texas A&M (24-5, 16-4 SEC), which closed out the regular season on a nine-match winning streak to win the SEC Western Division and finish second overall to Florida, received an at-large bid to the 2012 NCAA Volleyball Championship and will face North Carolina State in the first round, Thursday, Nov. 29 at Gregory Gym in Austin, Texas. The match against the Wolfpack (22-9) will begin at 4 p.m.

Tickets are available online at TexasSports.com or by calling (512) 471-3333.

The following is the complete list of 2012 All-SEC volleyball awards:

Player of the Year: Chloe Mann, Florida
Libero of the Year: Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Živa Recek, Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Anderson, Arkansas
Coach of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida

First Team All-SEC
Roslandy Acosta, Arkansas
Taylor Brauneis, Florida
Chloe Mann, Florida
Živa Recek, Florida
Tangerine Wiggs, Florida
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Lisa Henning, Missouri
Kelsey Robinson, Tennessee
Alisia Kastmo, Texas A&M
Lindsey Miller, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Kayla Fitterer, Alabama
Jasmine Norton, Arkansas
Sarah Bullock, Auburn
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Betsy Smith, Florida
Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Whitney Little, Missouri
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina
Tiffany Baker, Tennessee
Allie Sawatzky, Texas A&M

All-Freshmen Team
Liz Fortado, Arkansas
Živa Recek, Florida
Jasmine Eatmon, Georgia
Sara Schwarzwalder, Kentucky
Nakeyta Clair, Ole Miss
Ty Laporte, Ole Miss
Roxanne McVey, Mississippi State