Aggie Soccer Honors Players at Annual Banquet

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The SEC Western Division Champion Texas A&M soccer team held its annual awards banquet Saturday at the Cox Diamond Club at Blue Bell Park.

The event honored athletes and staff in several athletic and academic areas for the 2012 campaign. Awards included recognition from various soccer media organizations and other outlets apart from Texas A&M University. The awards presented at the banquet ranged from position MVPs, who contributed to the team's success on the field, to those accolades which highlighted the athlete who most exemplified the spirit of Aggieland.

The squad bestowed positional MVP awards upon four players with Annie Kunz earning Offensive MVP, Beth West and Meghan Streight sharing Midfield MVP and Lyndsey Gnatzig garnering Defensive MVP.

Kunz was recognized as the team’s scoring leader and Jayne Eadie was honored as the Aggie assist leader.

Gnatzig picked up awards for Most Improved and Iron Aggie. Catalina Clavijo also garnered multiple awards, including the 12th Man Award and Spirit of Aggieland Award.

Other award winners included Shea Groom taking home the Perseverance Award and Karlie Mueller earning Newcomer of the Year status.

In 2012, the team won a Western Division title in the first season in the Southeastern Conference. The Aggies earned a bid to their 18th consecutive NCAA Tournament, advancing to the Sweet 16 before falling to Florida State in Tallahassee. A&M finished the season ranked 14th in the nation with a 19-5-1 record (10-2-1 Big 12). The 19 wins was one shy of the school record.

Leading Scorer: Annie Kunz
Assists Leader: Jayne Eadie
Offensive MVP: Annie Kunz
Midfield MVP: Beth West and Meghan Streight
Defensive MVP: Lyndsey Gnatzig
Perseverance Award: Shea Groom
Newcomer of the Year: Karlie Mueller
12th Man Award: Catalina Clavijo
Spirit of Aggieland Award: Catalina Clavijo
Most Improved: Lyndsey Gnatzig
Iron Aggie: Lyndsey Gnatzig

NSCAA All-American Third Team: Meghan Streight

NSCAA All-South Region First Team: Jordan Day, Meghan Streight, Shea Groom, Rachel Lenz
NSCAA All-South Region Second Team: Annie Kunz
NSCAA Scholar All-Region: Beth West

All-SEC Team: Annie Kunz, Meghan Streight, Jordan Day, Shea Groom
All-SEC Freshman Team: Jackie Tondl
All-Tournament Team (SEC): Meghan Streight, Beth West
SEC Academic Honor Roll: Alexandra Bailey, Catalina Clavijo, Jayne Eadie, Leigh Edwards, Lyndsey Gnatzig, Shea Groom, Chelsea Jones, Annie Kunz, Renee McDermott, Kate Perry, Meghan Streight, Bethany West, Lindsey Witz

Allie Bailey – SEC Offensive Player of the Week (9/4)
Annie Kunz - SEC Offensive Player of the Week (9/10)
Jordan Day – SEC Player of the week by (9/10)
Rachel Lenz – Team of the Week (9/10)
Rachel Lenz – SEC Defensive Player of the Week (9/17)
Jordan Day – SEC Defensive Player of the Week (9/24)

SEC Western Division Champions
NCAA Tournament Qualifiers – 18th consecutive Year
NCAA Sweet 16 – 5th time in program history

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus