Aggie women set to defend team title at Houston Baptist Invitational on Friday

By  | 

HOUSTON, Texas -- A squad of 22 runners will compete for Texas A&M on Friday at the Houston Baptist Invitational with the first race scheduled for 5 p.m. at the St. Agnes Athletic Complex, which is located at the corner of Bellaire Boulevard and Fondren Road.

Teams scheduled to compete include Baylor, Houston Baptist, Nicholls State, Rice, Texas Southern and Southern-Baton Rouge. The Aggie women won the HBU Invitational a year ago with Heather Sterling winning the women’s individual title over a three-mile course. A&M ran only four men in last year’s race and didn’t field a scoring team.

“This is another great opportunity for many of our student-athletes,” said Texas A&M assistant coach Wendel McRaven. “It will provide valuable collegiate racing experience for some of our athletes and will also provide the opportunity for some to earn a travel spot for upcoming meets, including the SEC Championships. Our women won this meet last year so this will give us a chance to defend that title.”

The women’s race, which covers 5,000 meters, will begin at 5:10 p.m. The Aggies have a dozen athletes in the women’s field led by juniors Johanna Galloway, Caitlin Gilmore and Heather Sterling. The crew also includes sophomores Ashley Chamberlain and Rachel Williams along with freshmen Haley Deakins, Lauren Fontana, Meredith Gleitz, Katie Pia, Sara Shaw, Eva Vigh and Emily Willingham.

Also racing over 5,000 meters, the men’s race begins at 5:40 p.m. Texas A&M will have 10 runners in the field led by seniors Micah Dettmer, Dylan Williams and Bobby Zeller along with juniors Ryan Miller and Jake Roberts. Freshmen competing in the race for the Aggies are Elliott Farris, Aaron Murray, Alex Riba, Nathan Ricketts and Dillon Worley.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus