Aggie Swim/Dive Falls to Auburn Tigers

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas --- The Texas A&M men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams dropped hard-fought dual meets to Auburn at the Student Recreation Center on Saturday.

The No. 2 Aggie women’s team dropped a narrow 158-141 decision to the No. 11 Tigers, while the A&M men’s squad fell to the No. 9 Auburn men 189-111. The Aggies combined to win 10 events against the Tigers, with the women’s team posting six victories and the men taking four wins.

Leading the way with two individual wins each were Aggie Olympians Cammile Adams and Breeja Larson from the women’s squad and sophomore transfer Ford McLiney for the men.

Adams, a junior from Cypress, Texas, won her specialty, the 200-yard butterfly, in 1:56.32, and the 500 freestyle in 4:46.35. Adams was fifth in the 200 fly at the London Olympics last summer, which is the highest individual finish by a current Aggie swimmer at the Olympic games.

Larson, a junior from Mesa, Ariz., swept the 100-and 200-yard breaststrokes, downing her Team USA teammate Micah Lawrence of Auburn twice in the process. Larson, the NCAA and American record holder at both distances, won the 100 breast in 59.23 and the 200 breast in 2:07.47.

McLiney, from Kansas City, Mo., via Florida State, shined in the diving well with a sweep of the men’s one- and three-meter springboard dives. McLiney, the Atlantic Coast Conference runner-up on the 3m in 2012, won the 1m dive with 355.80 points and the 3m dive with 384.68.

Also grabbing individual wins were senior Maureen McLaine (Plano, Texas) in the women’s 1,000 freestyle, junior Omar Enriquez (San Andrea Tuxtla, Mexico) in the men’s 1,650 free, senior Tess Simpson (Ingleside, Ontario, Canada) in the women’s 200 backstroke and freshman Mateo Muzek (Zagreb, Croatia) in the men’s 200 back.

McLaine, also the runner-up in the 500 free (4:47.49), held off teammate Sarah Henry for the win the 1,000 free in a time of 9:45.45. Henry charged in the final 200 meters to separate from Auburn’s Katie Gardocki and challenge McLaine in a time of 9:47.09. Simpson, also the runner-up in the 100 back (54.64), hit the wall first in the 200 back in a time of 1:57.95.

Enriquez trailed Auburn’s Zane Grothe by nearly two seconds midway through the mile but steadily reeled in the All-American down the stretch. Enriquez touched the wall in 15:29.34, which was more than a second ahead of Grothe (15:30.34). Muzek threw down a strong final 50 meters (27.31 split) to rally past Auburn’s Brandon Siemasko for the win in 1:49.53 to Siemasko’s 1:49.98.

Other runner-up finishes from the women’s team were junior Sammie Bosma in the 50 free (23.10) and 100 free (50.01), junior Caroline McElhany in the 100 fly (54.48) and 200 fly (1:57.92), and Henry in the 200 IM (2:02.01). The Aggies’ 400 free relay of Bosma, freshmen Meredith Oliver and Claire Brandt and McElhany was second in 3:21.43.

Other runner-up finishes from the men’s team were Enriquez in the 200 fly (1:49.38) and 500 free (4:32.57), senior John Dalton in the 50 free (20.29) and 100 free (44.48) and freshman Alexandros Theocharidis in the 100 back (50.51). The Aggies were second in the both relays with the 400 medley relay foursome of Theocharidis, senior John Wagner, junior Henrik Lindau and Dalton touching in 3:19.70, and the 400 free relay of junior Kyle Troskot, Lindau, Dalton and Muzek finishing in 2:59.41.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus