Aggie Soccer Lands Four on All-SEC Team

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The No. 13 Texas A&M Soccer team had four players earn All-SEC honors and one player garner SEC All-Freshman distinction in voting conducted by the league’s coaches, the conference announced on Monday afternoon.

Goalkeeper Jordan Day, forward Annie Kunz, midfielder/defender Meghan Streight and forward Shea Groom, all sophomores, were named to the All-SEC squad as Texas A&M and Florida led the way with four selections apiece. The Aggies and Gators were the only two teams to have more than two honorees.

Day, Kunz and Streight were named All-SEC First Team. Texas A&M and Florida each had three first-teamers while Missouri had a pair named to the top squad. One player each from Auburn, Kentucky and Tennessee rounded out the first team.

Day leads the SEC with a 0.49 goals-against average, 11 shutouts and a .877 save percentage. Earlier this season, she set the league record with seven consecutive shutouts. In league action, Day owns a 0.53 goals-against average, a .883 save percentage and seven shutouts.

Kunz ranks fourth in the league with 11 goals and fifth with 23 points. She also has one assist on the year and a league-high four game-winning goals. In SEC play, the Golden, Colo.-product has 15 points on seven goals and one assist. Last season, Kunz earned a spot on the Big 12 All-Newcomer team.

Streight has started all 20 games this season, splitting time between the midfield and the backline. She ranks fourth on the team with 12 points on three goals and six assists. In SEC play, Streight has eight points on two goals and four assists. She has played a key role on a defense that ranks fifth in the nation with a 0.49 goals-against average.

An All-Big 12 Second Team selection in 2011, Streight joins Bryn Blalack and Kristen Koop on the list of Aggies to earn all-conference recognition in multiple conferences. Both players earned All-SWC honors in 1995 before picking up All-Big 12 laurels (Blalack ’96-97, Koop ’96).

Groom was selected All-SEC Second Team. The Liberty, Mo.-native ranks third on the Aggies in scoring with five goals and five assists. She has one game-winning goal on the season. All five of her goals came in SEC play, where she also added one assist for 11 points.

Defender Jackie Tondl was named to SEC All-Freshman. The Omaha, Neb.-native has appeared in 16 games this season with 12 starts as a defender. She has helped spearhead a defense that leads the SEC with a 0.49 goals-against average.

Florida earned three of the league’s major awards with Becky Burleigh named Coach of the Year recognition, Erika Tymrak tabbed Offensive Player of the Year laurels and Holly King casted as Defensive Player of the Year. Alabama’s Merel van Dongen was named the SEC Freshman of the Year. Ole Miss’ Rafaelle Souza and Missouri’s Allison Hu were the SEC Co-Scholar Athletes of the Year.

Texas A&M returns to action on Wednesday when it plays either Arkansas or South Carolina in an SEC Tournament quarterfinal contest in Orange Beach, Alabama. The SEC Tournament begins today at 4 p.m. with two first-round games, including Arkansas-South Carolina and Ole Miss-LSU.

2012 SEC Women’s Soccer Awards
First Team All-SEC
Tatiana Coleman, Auburn – F, 5-8, So., Boca Raton, Fla.
Holly King, Florida – M, 5-9, Sr., Ashburn, Va.
Jo Dragotta, Florida – M, 5-8, Sr., Tampa, Fla.
Erika Tymrak, Florida – M/F, 5-5, Sr., Bradenton, Fla.
Arin Gilliland, Kentucky – D, 5-8, So., Lexington, Ky.
Alyssa Diggs, Missouri – F, 5-4, Jr., Coppell, Texas
Dominique Richardson, Missouri – M, 5-6, Jr., Fullerton, Calif.
Hannah Wilkinson, Tennessee – F, 5-11, So., Whangarei, New Zealand
Jordan Day, Texas A&M – GK, 6-0, So., Gilbert, Ariz.
Annie Kunz, Texas A&M – F, 6-0, So., Golden, Colo.
Meghan Streight, Texas A&M – D/M, 5-5, So., McKinney, Texas

Second Team All-SEC
Pia Rijsdijk, Alabama – F, 5-9, So., Numansdorp, Netherlands
Merel van Dongen, Alabama – M, 5-8, Fr., Amsterdam, Netherlands
Allie Chandler, Arkansas – F, 5-3, Sr., Mesquite, Texas
Christen Westphal, Florida – D/M, 5-6, Fr., Brecksville, Ohio
Torri Allen, Georgia – D, 5-4, Jr., Stafford, Va.
Jade Kovacevic, LSU – F/M, 5-6, Fr., Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Mandy McCalla, Ole Miss – M/F, 5-8, Jr., Fayetteville, Ga.
Rafaelle Souza, Ole Miss, Ole Miss – F, 5-7, Jr., Salvador, Brazil
Elisabeth Sullivan, Mississippi State – F, 5-5, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
Sabrina D’Angelo, South Carolina – GK, 5-8, So., Welland, Ontario
Ali Hall, Tennessee – D, 5-8, Sr., Hawthorn Woods, Ill.
Shea Groom, Texas A&M – F, 5-6, So., Liberty, Mo.

All-Freshman Team
Katie Bourgeois, Alabama – F, 5-5, Fr., Katy, Texas
Merel van Dongen, Alabama – M, 5-8, Fr., Amsterdam, Netherlands
Ashleigh Ellenwood, Arkansas – F, 5-9, Fr., Michigan City, Ind.
Kala Faulkner, Auburn – D, 5-5, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.
Christen Westphal, Florida – D/M, 5-6, Fr., Brecksville, Ohio
Kelli Hubly, Kentucky – F, 5-9, Fr., Elk Grove, Ill.
Courtney Raetzman, Kentucky – M, 4-11, Fr., Elk Grove, Ill.
Jade Kovacevic, LSU – F/M, 5-6, Fr., Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Candace Johnson, Missouri – D, 5-10, Fr., Dallas, Texas
Jackie Tondl, Texas A&M – D, 5-9, Fr., Omaha, Neb.
Cheyna Williams, Vanderbilt – F, 5-7, Fr., Hampton, Ga.

Coach of the Year
Becky Burleigh, Florida

Offensive Player of the Year
Erika Tymrak, Florida

Defensive Players of the Year
Holly King, Florida

Freshman of the Year
Merel van Dongen, Alabama

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Rafaelle Souza, Ole Miss

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus