Aggies Seek Third Set of Team Titles at High-Caliber Razorback Invitational

By  | 

FAYETTEVILLE, Arkansas -- After winning a pair of home meets, including a 10-team Invitational and a Triangular, the Aggies travel for the first time this indoor season and will be one of seven nationally ranked teams competing at the Razorback Invitational on Friday and Saturday in the Randal Tyson Track Complex.

Joining Texas A&M, with the Aggie women ranked No. 3 nationally and the men No. 5, and Arkansas, with the Razorback men ranked No. 1 and the women No. 7, in the scored meet will be Florida (men No. 2, women No. 4), Florida State (men No. 6, women No. 17), Oklahoma, Oklahoma State (men No. 10), Stanford (men No. 20, women No. 9), Texas (men No. 19, women No. 2) and Tulsa.

USTFCCCA has classified the Razorback Invitational as its national meet of the week. Live results will be available at while A&M updates are available on twitter through @aggietrk. The meet begins at 4 p.m. on Friday and 11 a.m. on Saturday.

The Aggies head into the high-caliber meet with six collegiate leaders from the early portion of the 2014 indoor season. The A&M group includes Prezel Hardy, Jr. (20.70, 200m), Deon Lendore (45.74, 400m), Kamaria Brown (22.96, 200m), LaQue Moen-Davis (44-3.25, triple jump) as well as both men’s and women’s 4x400 relays with times of 3:05.43 and 3:34.15.

Hardy, the national athlete of the week following his double sprint victory on Jan. 18 with career best times of 6.56 and 20.70, will compete in both events this weekend. In the 60 meters Hardy will likely face Dentarius Locke of Florida State and Hugh Graham, Jr. of Florida while the 200 field includes Locke along with Florida’s Arman Hall.

In the 400 Lendore, with the current world leading time, will encounter a field that includes Hall, who posted a 45.84 on an oversized track last weekend, as well as Arkansas’ Neil Braddy, Florida State’s James Harris and Aggie teammates Carlyle Roudette and Aldrich Bailey, Jr.

After posting the two fastest times in the world over 200 meters (22.96, 23.10), Brown will contest her first open 400 of the indoor season in a race that features a showdown with Florida’s Ebony Eutsey and Chrishuna Williams of Arkansas as well as Florida State’s tandem of Sage Watson and Elizabeth Ichite.

Meanwhile, Moen-Davis will see competition in the triple jump from Ciarra Brewer of Florida and in the long jump she will square off against the Gator duo of Lorraine Graham and Robin Reynolds.

Always an entertaining finish to any meet the 4x400 relays should provide an exciting conclusion to the Razorback Invitational. The Aggie men and women will each test their mettle against Arkansas, Florida and Florida State.

Last year’s top two hurdlers in the nation, A&M’s Wayne Davis II and Florida’s Eddie Lovett, will race in separate heats of the 60 hurdle prelims and likely face one another in the final. Lovett claimed the NCAA Indoor title over 60 hurdles a year ago while Davis captured the NCAA Outdoor title in the 110 hurdles. This season Lovett has recorded a 7.70 in the 60 hurdles while Davis has a best of 7.75.

Fresh off her school record winning performance in the weight throw, Brea Garrett headlines the event this weekend against a field that includes Briana Cherry-Bronson and Lakita Johnson of Florida State. Casey Strong is seeded second in the men’s weight throw behind Oklahoma State’s Nick Miller.

After clocking a 4:08.07 victory in the Texas A&M Triangular mile, Aggie Alex Riba contests the Invitational mile that features Tulsa’s Simon Greiner and Chad Noelle of Oklahoma State. Invitational entries for the A&M women in the 3,000 meters will include the trio of Hillary Montgomery, Grace Fletcher and Amanda Jenkins.

Aggies Hector Hernandez and Josh Hernandez are both in the Invitational 800, running in separate sections. Aliese Hyde will run in the women’s 800 Invitational where the top entries include Tulsa’s Katherine Camp and Oklahoma State’s Kaela Edwards.

Andrew Irwin of Arkansas headlines the men’s pole vault where A&M’s Chase Wolfle will offer a challenge along with Florida State’s Cayman Ellis. Likewise, Aggie Brittany Wooten will seek to add another personal best effort in a women’s pole vault field that includes the Razorback tandem of Danielle Nowell and Ariel Voskamp along with Stanford’s Ellie McCardwell.

Current SEC Event Leaders


60 6.56 Prezel Hardy, Jr. Texas A&M

200 20.70 Prezel Hardy, Jr. Texas A&M

400 45.74 Deon Lendore Texas A&M

800 1:50.82 Blair Henderson LSU

OT 1:48.20 Sean Obinwa Florida

Mile 4:02.20 Niklas Buhner Auburn

3000 8:15.10 Max Storms Missouri

OT 7:59.55 Matt Hillenbrand Kentucky

5000 14:44.84 Austin Whitelaw Tennessee

OT 14:43.14 Brendan Hoban Georgia

60H 7.70 Eddie Lovett Florida

4x400 3:05.43 Texas A&M

DMR 10:01.33 Texas A&M

OT 9:41.95 Florida

HJ 7-2 ½ 2.20 Anthony May Arkansas

PV 18-4 ¾ 5.61 Sam Kendricks Mississippi

LJ 25-6 ¾ 7.79 Jarrion Lawson Arkansas

TJ 52-6 ½ 16.01 Jeremiah Green Alabama

SP 63-9 19.43 Brad Szypka Kentucky

Wt 67-9 ¾ 20.67 Elias Hakansson Alabama

Multi 5811 Maicel Uibo Georgia


60 7.19 Dezerea Bryant Kentucky

200 22.96 Kamaria Brown Texas A&M

400 53.52 Chrishuna Williams Arkansas

OT 52.76 Ebony Eutsey Florida

800 2:07.47 Cory McGee Florida

OT 2:06.58 Yanique Malcolm Alabama

Mile 4:38.49 Dominique Scott Arkansas

3000 9:21.88 Carly Hamilton Georgia

OT 9:18.26 Cory McGee Florida

5000 OT 16:40.74 Bret McDaniel Georgia

60H 7.96 Kendra Harrison Kentucky

4x400 3:34.15 Texas A&M

OT 3:33.35 Kentucky

DMR 11:25.58 Arkansas

OT 11:00.16 Florida

HJ 6-2 ¾ 1.90 Jeannelle Scheper South Carolina

PV 14-0 4.27 Morgan Leleaux Georgia

LJ 20-11 ¼ 6.38 Erica Bougard Mississippi State

Robin Reynolds Florida

TJ 44-3 ¼ 13.49 LaQue Moen-Davis Texas A&M

SP 54-10 ¼ 16.72 Jill Rushin Missouri

Wt 69-6 21.18 Kearsten Peoples Missouri

Multi 4302 Kendell Williams Georgia

OT=mark made on oversize track

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus