Ameer Webb defends NCAA Indoor 200m title, records world-leading time

By  | 

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Texas A&M senior Ameer Webb defended his NCAA Indoor title in the 200 meters with a winning time of 20.42 seconds. In the prelims, held an hour earlier, Webb set the world-leading time for 2013 with a 20.37 clocking that broke the Aggies school record.

Webb led the qualifiers into the 200 final with his world-leading and school record time 20.37, breaking the Aggie record of 20.38 set by Curtis Mitchell in winning the 2010 NCAA Indoor title. Webb cruised to a world-leading time of 20.39 in the NCAA prelims a year ago in Boise, Idaho and went on to claim the final in 20.57.

The A&M men and women each have 10 points after the first day. Webb scored 10 with his victory while the Aggie women had three athletes score on day one.

Kamaria Brown placed fourth in the women’s 200 final while Ashton Purvis finished sixth to score eight points for the Aggies. They ran times of 22.90 and 23.11, respectively.

The first scoring opportunity for the Aggie women came in the long jump. LaQue Moen-Davis, who placed 13th at the SEC meet, finished seventh at the NCAA Indoor with a mark of 20-8 (6.30). Moen-Davis produced that mark in the sixth and final round to move from a non-scoring ninth to gaining two points in seventh place.

Deon Lendore recorded the third fastest time in the world this season in leading the men’s 400 qualifying with a time of 45.36 seconds to win the opening heat. Only Lendore has produced faster times in 2013 with his world-leading 45.15 from the SEC prelims and the 45.23 that claimed the SEC final.

Lendore will be stationed in lane five for Saturday’s final with Houston’s Errol Nolan to his outside in lane six while a pair of Gators will occupy lanes three and four with Hugh Graham, Jr. and Najee Glass.

Wayne Davis II motored to third place in his heat of the 60 hurdles with a time of 7.68, just off his career best of 7.65 from a SEC runner-up finish two weeks ago. Davis was the top time qualifier for the final as the top two finishers automatically advanced followed by the four fastest times between the two heats.

Davis, who turned in the fifth fastest performance in A&M history, finished third behind Spencer Adams of Clemson (7.62) and Ray Stewart of California (7.68). Davis missed second place by 0.005 of a second. Florida’s Eddie Lovett, the SEC champion and collegiate leader, won the second heat in a career best of 7.53 and was followed by Keiron Stewart of Texas with a 7.63.

Donique’ Flemings placed fifth in her heat of the 60 hurdles with a season best time of 8.15, just off her career best of 8.14. She advanced to the final as the last time qualifier among two others who clocked 8.15 in the race.

Clemson’s Brianna Rollins, who set the collegiate record of 7.78 earlier this season, led the qualifiers with a 7.82 that bettered the meet and facility record of 7.84 set by Virginia Powell of USC in 2006.

Saturday’s finals will also include Henry Lelei in the men’s 3,000 meters, Moen-Davis in the women’s triple jump as well as the Aggies pair of 4 x 400 relays.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus