Bone Added to USBWA Player of the Year Watch List

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M junior Kelsey Bone has been added to the United States Basketball Writers Association Ann Meyers Drysdale Award midseason watch list announced today.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 20 outstanding players for its 2013 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Midseason Watch List. Members of the association's board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award.

The awards is to be presented to the women's national player of the year by its namesake at the USBWA women's awards press conference on April 7 in the interview room of the New Orleans Arena, 3:30 p.m. local time prior to the start of the NCAA Women's Final Four semifinals.

Bone and Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies are the only representatives from the SEC. Bone is one of only five Ann Meyers Drysdale National Players of the Week from this season featured on the list: Stanford's Chiney Oguwmike, Connecticut's Stefanie Dolson, Texas A&M's Bone, Penn State's Maggie Lucas, and Baylor's Brittney Griner.

The Houston native leads the Southeastern Conference in field goal percentage (57.7) and rebounds per game (9.9) and ranks third in points per game (17.6), leading to three SEC Player of the Week honors this season. Bone is second in the SEC in double-doubles this season with 13, bringing her career total to 27 double-doubles.

Bone and the Aggies return to action this Thursday at Tennessee on CSS at 6:00 pm (CT).

The complete 2013 Ann Meyers Drysdale Midseason Watch List:

Pos. No. Player, School Ht. Yr. Hometown
G 40 Kayla Alexander, Syracuse 6-4 Sr. Milton, Ont.
G 20 Alex Bentley, Penn State 5-7 Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
C 3 Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M 6-4 Jr. Houston, Texas
F 25 Gennifer Brandon, California 6-2 Jr. Sylmar, Calif.
G/F 11 Elena Delle Donne, Delaware 6-5 Sr. Wilmington, Del.
G 4 Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame 5-9 Sr. South Bend, Ind.
C 31 Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut 6-5 Jr. Port Jervis, N.Y.
G 34 Kelly Faris, Connecticut 5-11 Sr. Plainfield, Ind.
G 3 Angel Goodrich, Kansas 5-4 Sr. Tahlequah, Okla.
G 12 Chelsea Gray, Duke 5-11 Jr. Manteca, Calif.
C 42 Brittney Griner, Baylor 6-8 Sr. Houston, Texas
F 21 Tianna Hawkins, Maryland 6-3 Sr. Clinton, Md.
G 33 Maggie Lucas, Penn State 5-10 Jr. Narberth, Pa.
G 1 A'dia Matthies, Kentucky 5-9 Sr. Louisville, Ky.
F 23 Kaleena Moaqueda-Lewis, Connecticut 6-0 So. Anaheim Hills, Calif.
F 13 Chiney Oguwmike, Stanford 6-3 Jr. Cypress, Texas
G/F 24 Niveen Rasheed, Princeton 6-0 Jr. Danville, Calif.
G 0 Odyssey Sims, Baylor 5-8 Jr. Irving, Texas
F 25 Alyssa Thomas, Maryland 6-2 Jr. Harrisburg, Pa.
C 1 Elizabeth Williams, Duke 6-3 So. Virginia Beach, Va.

While these standout players are the leading contenders to be named to the USBWA's women's All-America team and as finalists for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, all Division I women's players remain eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. Voting for both the women's All-America team and Ann Meyers Drysdale Award are done directly by the membership with the All-America team is to be announced in late March.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus