Davey O'Brien Watch List Candidates go head-to-head in week three

By  | 

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up for week three highlights Davey O'Brien Watch List candidates AJ McCarron and Johnny Manziel in an SEC West showdown.

Throughout the season, the Davey O'Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4.

Marquee Match-up: No. 1* Alabama at No. 6* Texas A&M
Saturday, September 14 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on CBS
After dominating Sam Houston State in a 65-28 victory, Johnny Manziel and the Texas A&M Aggies welcome AJ McCarron and the top-ranked Alabama Crimson Tide to Kyle Field on Saturday afternoon. Manziel, the 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner, will face a tough test against two-time defending national champion Alabama and their top-ranked pass defense (59.0 yards per game) as he tries to move his team to 3-0.

AJ McCarron will try to keep the Tide rolling towards their third straight BCS National Championship when they head to College Station this week to take on the top-ranked passing offense in the SEC (392.0 yards per game).

Other Notable Games (based on start times)
No. 16 UCLA (Brett Hundley) at No. 23 Nebraska (Taylor Martinez)
Saturday, September 14 at 11 a.m. (CT) on ABC
Nevada (Cody Fajardo) at No. 10 Florida State (Jameis Winston)
Saturday, September 14 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPN
Marshall (Rakeem Cato) at Ohio (Tyler Tettleton)
Saturday, September 14 at 7 p.m. (CT) on ESPNEWS
*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll

About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $890,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus