Deon Lendore, LaQue Moen-Davis garner SEC Athlete of the Year honors

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM – SEC Athlete of the Year honors were awarded to a pair of Texas A&M track and field athletes with voting conducted by the league coaches following the SEC Indoor Championships. Aggie sophomore Deon Lendore was selected as the men’s Runner of the Year while A&M’s LaQue Moen-Davis was chosen the women’s freshman Field Athlete of the Year.

Lendore set a world-leading time of 45.15 in the prelims of the SEC 400 meters and then won the final in 45.23. He capped the meet with a 44.50 split on the anchor leg of A&M’s winning time of 3:04.18, which established a SEC Indoor meet record and is also the current world-leading time for 2013.

Moen-Davis was just one of two freshmen women two win an event at the SEC Indoor as she produced a career best of 44-2 (13.46) in the triple jump. Moen-Davis’ second best mark of 43-10.75 (13.38) secured the title when LSU’s Keri Emanuel matched her top distance of 44-2. On the current collegiate list Moen-Davis is the nation’s top freshman in the triple jump and second-best freshman in the long jump.

In addition 15 Aggies earned All-SEC first and second team honors while A&M also claimed three positions on the women’s All-SEC freshman team.

First team All-SEC honors was awarded to Henry Lelei, Ricky Babineaux, Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Deon Lendore, Carlyle Roudette, and LaQue Moen-Davis.

Receiving second team All-SEC honors were James Bonn, Gregory Coleman, Wayne Davis II and Hector Hernandez among the A&M men along with Kamaria Brown, Ashley Collier, Donique’ Flemings, Brea Garrett and Ashton Purvis among the Aggie women.

Jennifer Madu earned a pair of positions on the SEC All-Freshman team in the 60 and 200 meters while Moen-Davis was the top freshman in the triple jump. Madu was the top freshman finisher in the SEC 60, placing third with a 7.34, and 200, where she placed 10th in the prelim with a 23.69.

SEC Indoor Coach of the Year honors went to Arkansas men’s coach Chris Bucknam and the Razorback women’s coach Lance Harter. Arkansas became the first school to win both team titles at SEC Indoor since the Florida achieved the feat in 2004. The last time Arkansas won both team titles was in 2003.

Florida’s Marquis Dendy claimed the men’s Field Athlete of the Year while freshman honors went to Missouri sprinter Markesh Woodson and Tennessee pole vaulter Jake Blankenship. LSU’s Kimberlyn Duncan earned the women’s Runner of the Year honor while Makeba Alcide of Arkansas claimed the Field Athlete of the Year. Georgia sprinter Shaunae Miller was selected as the freshman Runner of the Year.

Texas A&M will have athletes competing in Notre Dame and LSU this weekend as athletes seek to improve their standing on the national collegiate list. The top 16 individuals and top 12 relays will qualify for the NCAA Indoor Championships, which are held March 8-9 in Fayetteville.

Friday’s competition in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, will include Casey Strong in the weight throw, Brea Garrett in the shot put and weight throw, Chase Wolfle in the pole vault, along with Michael Bryan and Jennifer Madu in the 60 meters.

Competing in South Bend, Indiana, on Saturday will be Henry Lelei in the 3,000 meters, Aldrich Bailey, Jr. in the 400, James Bonn and Hector Hernandez in the 800, along with the women’s 4 x 400 relay.

2013 SEC Indoor Track and Field Awards

Men’s Coach of the Year: Chris Bucknam, Arkansas
Women’s Coach of the Year: Lance Harter, Arkansas

Men’s Runner of the Year: Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Men’s Field Athlete of the Year: Marquis Dendy, Florida
Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Markesh Woodson, Missouri
Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee

Women’s Runner of the Year: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: LaQue Moen-Davis

Men’s First-Team All-SEC
Ricky Babineaux, Texas A&M
Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M
Tarik Batchelor, Arkansas
Marquis Dendy, Florida
Cameron Efurd, Arkansas
Aaron Ernest, LSU
Nathanael Franks, Arkansas
Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky
Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
Anthony Leighio, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Eddie Lovett, Florida
Sean Obinwa, Florida
Ricky Robertson, Ole Miss
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M
Stephen Saenz, Auburn
Garrett Scantling, Georgia
David Triassi, Florida
Markesh Woodson, Missouri

Men’s Second-Team All-SEC
Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
James Bonn, Texas A&M
Gregory Coleman, Texas A&M
Omar Craddock, Florida
Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
Dedric Dukes, Florida
Damar Forbes, LSU
Najee Glass, Florida
Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida
Charles Grethen, Georgia
Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M
Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas
Anthony May, Arkansas
Jeremy Postin, Florida
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Marcus Rowland, Auburn
Leonardo Seymore, Florida
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Caleb Whitener, Georgia

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team
60m: Markesh Woodson, Missouri
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
400m: Eric Janise, Arkansas
800m: Tomas Squella, Arkansas
Mile: Robbie Farnham-Rose, Alabama
3,000m: Austin Whitelaw, Tennessee
5,000m: JL Hines, Florida
60m Hurdles: Joshua Lamers, LSU
HJ: Justin Fondren, Alabama
PV: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
LJ: Josh McCullan, Alabama
TJ: Jonathon Ilori, Missouri
SP: Ashina Miller, Georgia
WT: Elias Hakansson, Alabama
HEPT: Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Women’s First-Team All-SEC
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Amani Bryant, Florida
Laura Carleton, LSU
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Gwendolyn Flowers, Arkansas
Regina George, Arkansas
Denise Hinton, LSU
Hilenn James, Georgia
Charlene Lipsey, LSU
Cally Macumber, Kentucky
Cory McGee, Florida
Sparkle McKnight, Arkansas
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Alexis Paine, Alabama
Mandy Perkins, Florida
Chanice Porter, Georgia
Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina
Jasmin Stowers, LSU
Agata Strausa, Florida
Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Women’s Second-Team All-SEC
Kierre Beckles, South Carolina
Martine Borge, Arkansas
Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Tyler Brockington, South Carolina
Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M
Ashley Collier, Texas A&M
Keri Emanuel, LSU
Donique Flemings, Texas A&M
Brea Garrett, Texas A&M
Natoya Goule, LSU
Christal Green, South Carolina
Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
Ivanique Kemp, Arkansas
Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
Sandi Morris, Arkansas
Lucie Ondraschkova, Georgia
Ashton Purvis, Texas A&M
Erika Rucker, South Carolina
Jill Rushin, Missouri
Laura Roxberg, Missouri
Krystle Schade, Alabama
Keri Wood, Arkansas

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team
60m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
200m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
400m: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
800m: Kimberley Ficenec, Alabama
Mile: Lily Williams, Vanderbilt
3,000m: Hannah Jumper, Vanderbilt
5,000m: Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
60m Hurdles: Samantha Scarlett, Auburn
HJ: Shanice Hall, LSU
PV: Jessica Johnson, Auburn
LJ: Chanice Porter, Georgia
TJ: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
SP: Valentina Muzaric, Auburn
WT: Becky Famurewa, Kentucky
PENT: Therese Jerrnbeck, LSU

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus