Deon Lendore's Performance Earns National Athlete of the Week Honor

By  | 

NEW ORLEANS – A world-leading time of 45.47 seconds to defeat a stellar 400-meter field at the Razorback Invitational in addition to a scintillating 44.57 split on the anchor leg of the Aggie 4x400 relay earned Texas A&M junior Deon Lendore (len-DOOR) the Division I men’s USTFCCCA National Athlete of the Week honor.

This is the first national weekly honor for Lendore this season and the third in his career from the United States Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association. Lendore was selected for the award twice during the 2013 indoor season.

Heading into the Arkansas meet as the current world leader in the 400 with a time of 45.74, Lendore faced a talented field. It included the second fastest runner of the 2014 season in Florida’s Arman Hall, who posted a 45.81 on an oversized track the same weekend Lendore set the world-leading time.

Squaring off in the same section of the 400, Lendore answered the challenge from Hall and gained the lead at 200m with a 21.44 split over a 21.57 for the Gator. Lendore maintained his edge to the finish as his 45.47 put a couple of strides on Hall’s 45.63.

James Harris of Florida State won another section of the 400 in 46.20 over Aggie Aldrich Bailey, Jr. (46.25). Those four marks produced four of the six fastest times of the 2014 indoor season with Lendore and Hall leading the way while Harris and Bailey were fifth and sixth.

Other sprinters in the 400 field included Neil Braddy of Arkansas (46.46), Florida State's Michael Cherry (46.57) and Florida's Hugh Graham, Jr. (46.57).

Closing the meet with the 4x400 relay, the Aggies were in fourth place once the baton reached Lendore on the anchor leg. His split of 44.57, the fourth fastest ever indoors among collegians and professionals, placed A&M third in a season-best of 3:05.06, just behind the world-leading 3:04.46 by Florida and a 3:05.02 for runner-up Arkansas.

4x400 Relay splits (among top 75 relay times)
44.4 Darold Williamson (Baylor) 2005
44.50 Deon Lendore (Texas A&M) 2013
44.54 Rondell Bartholomew (SPl) 2011
44.57 Deon Lendore (A&M) 2014
44.5 Darold Williamson (Bay) 2004
44.62 LaShawn Merritt (Tyson AS) 2007
44.74 Jeremy Wariner (US) 2006
44.75 Milton Campbell (US) 1999
44.78 Jaime Baulch (GBR) 1999
44.7 Alleyne Francique (LSU) 2001
44.8 Mitch Potter (Minnesota) 2004
44.91 Tony McQuay (Florida) 2011
44.94 Demetrius Pinder (Tx A&M) 2011
44.9 Jonathan Fortenberry (SCar) 2003

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus