Softball Poll Sets Aggies at Preseason No. 11

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M softball team will start the season ranked No. 11 in both national polls after the Softball Preseason Top 25, released today, matched the NFCA/USA Today poll’s prediction for the Aggies.

The Aggies, who ended last season with a No. 17 RPI ranking and listed at No. 13 in the final Softball poll, finished 2013 at the NCAA Super Regional level for the fifth time in program history.

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) once again led the nation with eight member schools in the top 25, including No. 1 Tennessee, the 2013 national runner-up. Also representing the conference in the top 10 are No. 3 Florida and No. 6 Alabama. The Aggies weigh in as the fourth SEC team on the list at No. 11, followed by No. 14 Kentucky, No. 17 Missouri, No. 19 LSU and No. 21 Georgia. Arkansas and Auburn are receiving votes in the preseason poll.

The Aggies’ 2014 schedule includes seven teams from the Softball poll. Texas A&M will host the top-ranked Lady Volunteers, No. 3 Florida, No. 17 Missouri and No. 21 Georgia during conference action, and will play No. 9 Nebraska, No. 14 Kentucky and No. 24 California away from home. Receiving votes and on the Aggies’ slate are Arizona, Arkansas, Wisconsin, Tulsa, Auburn, Oregon State and Houston.

The 11th-ranked Aggies start the 2014 season on Feb. 7 at UC Santa Barbara’s Gaucho Classic I, beginning the team’s search for a 13th-straight trip to the NCAA Tournament and a berth to the Women’s College World Series.

To learn more about Texas A&M softball, log on to and follow @AggieSoftball on Twitter.

2014 Softball Preseason Poll

Rank Team
1. Tennessee (6)
2. Oklahoma (5)
3. Florida (6)
4. Michigan
5. Washington (2)
6. Alabama
7. Arizona State (1)
8. Oregon
9. Nebraska
10. Texas
11. Texas A&M
12. Florida State
13. UCLA
14. Kentucky
15. Louisiana-Lafayette
16. Baylor
17. Missouri
18. Louisville
19. LSU
20. Stanford
21. Georgia
22. South Alabama
23. South Florida
24. California
25. UAB

Others receiving votes: Arizona (59), North Carolina State (34), Hawaii (25), Arkansas (21), Wisconsin (17), Tulsa (14), Virginia Tech (12), Auburn (10), Western Kentucky (8), Oregon State (8), Notre Dame (4), Houston (4), Syracuse (3), North Carolina (2), Hofstra (2), Minnesota (2), Iowa (1).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus