Evans, Manziel named Tyler Rose Award finalists

By  | 

TYLER, Texas – Texas A&M’s dynamic sophomore tandem of wide receiver Mike Evans and quarterback Johnny Manziel were named finalists for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which is given to college football’s top offensive player with ties to the state of Texas.

Joining Evans and Manziel as finalists were Jace Amaro of Texas Tech, James Franklin of Missouri and Bryce Petty of Baylor. The winner of the first-ever Earl Cambell Tyler Rose Award will be announced at a banquet in Tyler on Jan. 10.

Evans, from Galveston, Texas, led the Aggies in receptions and receiving yards for the second straight year with 65 for 1,322 yards and 12 touchdowns. He broke the old record of 1,207 receiving yards set by Ryan Swope in 2011 and he matched the school record for touchdown catches originally set by Jeff Fuller in 2010. He led the SEC in receiving touchdowns, ranked No. 2 in receiving yards and was fourth in catches. His 20.3 yards per catch were tops in the SEC among receivers with 40 or more catches. He also matched the school single game record with four receiving touchdowns against Auburn.

Manziel, from Kerrville, Texas, led the SEC in passing yards, passing touchdowns, completion percentage, total offense and points responsibility. Manziel completed 270-of-391 passes for 3,732 yards and 33 touchdowns, while also leading the team with 686 rushing yards. He averaged 368.2 yards of total offense per game and is one of just seven FBS players to surpass the 4,000-yard plateau in 2013. He had a pair of 500-yard total offense games with 562 vs. Alabama and 502 vs. Auburn. He is the only player in college football to rank in the top 10 statistically in passing yards, passing touchdowns, completion percentage, QB rating, yards per attempt, total offense, yards per play and points responsibility.

2013 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Finalists:
Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, Tight End, Junior – San Antonio, TX (MacArthur HS)
Mike Evans, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver, Sophomore – Galveston, TX (Ball HS)
James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback, Senior – Corinth, TX (Lake Dallas, HS)
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback, Sophomore – Kerrville, TX (Tivy HS)
Bryce Petty, Baylor, Quarterback, Junior – Midlothian, HS (Midlothian HS)

For more information about The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award go to www.earlcampbellaward.com or contact Cindy Smoak, SPORTyler, Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce: csmoak@tylertexas.com or 903-592-1661, extension 237.
Get the most up-to-date information by following us on social media at twitter.com/campbellaward or facebook.com/campbellaward.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus