Evans Named MVP at A&M Golf Team Banquet

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — The No. 21 Texas A&M men’s golf team honored its 2012-13 regular season late Friday as part of the annual Aggie Golf Day and Team Awards Ceremony at Traditions Club.

Senior Drew Evans earned the prestigious Most Valuable Player Award as well as Most Improved Player in a vote of his teammates. The Dallas native leads the Aggies with a 72.74 scoring average this season while notching five top-10 finishes. Additionally, Evans stood out as the Aggies’ highest finisher at the 2013 SEC Championship where he ended play in tie for seventh at two-over par.

True freshman Ben Crancer was selected as the Newcomer of the Year after posting a 74.26 scoring average in eight events this season. The Kirkwood, Mo., native has notched a pair of top-five finishes, including a second-place showing at the Don Puckette National Invitational Tournament in March.

For the fourth consecutive year, Case Cochran was honored as the B.K. and Jane Watson Academic Achievement Award winner. The senior from Paducah, Ky., has been a standout student throughout his tenure in Aggieland, recently being selected as the top student in the Texas A&M sports management program.

Sophomore Greg Yates received the Coach Bob Ellis Leadership Award, which is named for the long-time Aggie golf coach who oversaw the A&M program for 28 seasons. Yates, who hails from Mansfield, Texas, was recognized for his work ethic and commitment to make himself and his teammates better. He currently maintains a 73.58 scoring average and has recorded six top-20 finishes this season, including a pair in the top five.

The Aggies are preparing to make an 11th straight appearance in an NCAA Regional and will find out their postseason destination when the field is announced on May 6th during a selection show on NCAA.com.

Most Valuable Player: Drew Evans
Most Improved: Drew Evans
Newcomer of the Year: Ben Crancer
B.K. & Jane Watson Academic Achievement: Case Cochran
Coach Bob Ellis Leadership: Greg Yates

Statistical Category Leaders
Best Driver: Ben Crancer
Best Ball Striker: Greg Yates
Best Short Game: Drew Evans
Toughest Player in the World: Greg Yates
Best Putter: Greg Yates
Best Scoring Average: Drew Evans

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus