Evans and Peck Selected to PING All-Region Team

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — While concluding their Aggie careers this week at the NCAA Championship, Texas A&M seniors Drew Evans and Cameron Peck were honored Tuesday with selections to the PING All-Central Region Team announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Evans has enjoyed a breakout 2012-13 campaign, earning Second Team All-SEC and Team MVP honors while leading the Aggies with a 73.00 stroke average. He has notched five top-ten finishes on the year, including the team’s only individual win when he finished atop the leaderboard at the Individual Championship of the Kikkor Golf Husky Invitational with a five-under par 208.

Additionally, Evans was the highest-finishing Aggie at the SEC Championship by ending the tournament at 212, two-over par. His run at the championship was highlighted by a second-round 67 as well as a hole-in-one on No. 17 during the event’s final round.

After garnering All-America honors each of his first three seasons in Aggieland, Peck has been solid once again as a senior. The Olympia, Wash., native owns a 73.64 scoring average with three top-10 finishes on the year to give him 17 for illustrious A&M career.

Both Evans and Peck are in action this week in Atlanta as they take aim at a national title during the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship. Texas A&M opened the event with a five-over par team round of 285 on Tuesday and will return to the Crabapple Course at the Capital City Club on Wednesday morning.

2013 Division I PING All-Region
Central Region
Abraham Ancer, Oklahoma
Julien Brun, TCU
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
Mario Clemens, SMU
Eli Cole, TCU
Austin Cook, Arkansas
Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
Ian Davis, Oklahoma State
Kevin Dougherty, Oklahoma State
Drew Evans, Texas A&M
Finley Ewing IV, Texas Tech
Scott Fernandez, Iowa State
Pontus Gad, TCU
Chris Gilbert, Kansas
Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State
Cody Gribble, Texas
Kramer Hickok, Texas
Daniel Jennevret, TCU
Jace Long, Missouri
Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State
Cameron Peck, Texas A&M
Romen Robledo, Houston
Clement Sordet, Texas Tech
Brandon Stone, Texas

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus