Fedora Named Lone Star Gridiron Coach of the Year

Navasota football coach Lee Fedora was named the Class 3A Lone Star Gridiron Coach of the Year this week. Fedora led Navasota to its first-ever state championship, which concluded with a perfect 16-0 record.

Here’s what the news release said about Fedora, who just completed his seventh year in Navasota:

Class 3A: Lee Fedora, Navasota – guided the Rattlers to a perfect 16-0 record culminating with the 3A Division II State Championship title. Fedora has spent 8 years at Navasota and tallied a 71-27 record. Prior to that, he spent 2 years at 3A Waco Robinson (2003-2004, 10-10-1) and 5 at 2A Rogers (1998-2002, 48-15) Coach Fedora is in the Top 300 All-Time Coaching Wins.

Each year Lone Star Gridiron takes this opportunity to present the top coach from each classification that has not only led his team to a remarkable season, but often exceeded expectations. As usual, the voting was very close but five men stood out as the best in the state for 2012. This was the first time that all the winners also won state title games.

Chris Doelle, co-founder and Managing Partner of Lone Star Gridiron said, “We are pleased to honor these coaches for all they do for their players, teams, schools and communities. They make a difference not only on the field, but in all the lives they touch.”

“Mighty” Mike Wright, co-founder and COO of Lone Star Gridiron added, “These coaches not only have proven themselves on the gridiron, but have gone above and beyond. Congratulations to some excellent coaches.”

The ballots are in and here are the Lone Star Gridiron 2012 Texas High School Football Coaches Of The Year by classification

Class 5A: Gary Joseph, Katy — led the Tigers to a 16-0 record as well as the 5A Division II State Championship. This marked the 5th state championship game over his 9 seasons with Katy where he has compiled a 123-11 record. Coach Joseph is in the Top 300 All-Time Coaching Wins.

Class 4A: Joe Willis, Cedar Park — led the Timberwolves to a 14-2 record as well as the 4A Division II State Championship. This was Willis’ first year as the head coach at Cedar Park as he was an assistant coach and Defensive Coordinator for the Timberwolves the previous 5 seasons. Previously, Coach Willis was a head coach at 1A Iraan (2004-2006, 22-12)

Class 2A: Jerry Long, East Bernard — led the Brahmas to a 15-0 record winning the 2A Division II Championship game. Long has coached in East Bernard for 7 years where he has put up a 64-21 record.

Class 1A: Wayne Hutchinson, Stamford — led the Bulldogs to a 14-1 record and captured the 1A Division I State Championship. In 7 seasons at Stamford, he has compiled a 61-24 record. Hutchinson is the only repeat winner in this year’s list as he captured the Lone Star Gridiron Class 1A Coach of the Year last season as well.

Lone Star Gridiron has provided statewide coverage of Texas high school football for the last nine years. Their motto, “Texas OWNED, Texas PROUD, ALWAYS FREE!” speaks to the fact that most the other statewide information sources either charge for their content and/or are owned by someone outside of Texas. LSG’s ownership has been involved in Texas high school football for more than 34 years – they played it, they lived it, they love it. (http://www.lonestargridiron.com)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus