Franchione Announces Resignation From Blinn

By  | 

BRENHAM – Brad Franchione announced today that he has resigned as head football coach at Blinn College.

In six seasons as the Buccaneers head coach, Franchione compiled a 54-13 overall record and two NJCAA National Championships. The highlights of his tenure include:

· Overall .806 winning percentage in 6 seasons at Blinn College

· Two National Championships (2006, 2009)

· Three SWJCFC Conference Championships (2006, 2008, 2009)

· Four overall bowl appearances (three consecutive from 2008-2010)

· 2009 American Community College Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year (top honor for community/junior college football)

· 2006 Southwest Junior College Football Conference Coach of the Year

· 2006 American Football Monthly Schutt Sports Coach of the Year

· 2006 Sportexe® Football Coach of the Year

· Three NFL players, including James Johnson (Cincinnati Bengals), Bernard Scott (Cincinnati Bengals) and Ryan Mouton (Tennessee Titans)

· 19 NJCAA All-Americans

· 85 student-athletes that have gone on to Division I programs

· 2008 Harlon Hill Trophy winner, running back Bernard Scott

· 2008 NJCAA Offensive Player of the Year, quarterback Terrance Cain

· 2010 Heisman Trophy winner, quarterback Cameron Newton

Current offensive coordinator and quarterbacks/receivers coach Ronny Feldman has been named interim head coach. A national search for a successor will begin immediately.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus