Joeckel, Sumlin Invited to NFL Draft

By  | 

Texas A&M All-American offensive tackle Luke Joeckel and Aggie head coach Kevin Sumlin will participate in the first day activities at the 2013 NFL Draft at Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Thursday, April 25.

Joeckel, the 2012 Outland Trophy winner, is one of 23 top prospects that will attend the NFL Draft. A projected high first-round, Joeckel is seeking to become the third Aggie drafted in the top 10 in the last three drafts. The other top 10 picks were Von Miller (No. 2 overall to the Denver Broncos in 2011) and Ryan Tannehill (No. 8 overall to the Miami Dolphins in 2012). Joining Joeckel in New York will be: Ezekiel Ansah of BYU, Tavon Austin of West Virginia, Jonathan Cooper of North Carolina, Eric Fisher of Central Michigan, Sharrif Floyd of Florida, D.J. Fluker of Alabama, Lane Johnson of Oklahoma, Dion Jordan of Oregon, Eddie Lacy of Alabama, E.J. Manuel of Florida State, Dee Milliner of Alabama, Barkevious Mingo of LSU, Cordarrelle Patterson of Tennessee, Eric Reid of LSU, Xavier Rhodes of Florida State, Sheldon Richardson of Missouri, Geno Smith of West Virginia, Desmond Trufant of Washington, Kenny Vaccaro of Texas, Chance Warmack of Alabama, Menelik Watson of Florida State and Bjoern Werner of Florida State. Ten of the 23 prospects are from the Southeastern Conference.

Some draft experts project Joeckel as the top overall pick, which would be the highest by an Aggie in the history of the NFL Draft. Four Aggies have been drafted No. 2 overall – Miller, Quentin Coryatt (Indianapolis Colts, 1992), John David Crow (1958, St. Louis Cardinals) and John Kimbrough (1941, Chicago Cardinals).

Sumlin, the 2012 SEC Coach of the Year, will serve as an analyst for the NFL Network’s first-day coverage of the NFL Draft. In his first season at Texas A&M, Sumlin led the Aggies to an 11-2 record and a win over Big 12 Conference Co-Champion Oklahoma in the 2013 AT&T Cotton Bowl.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus