Kamaria Brown named SEC Indoor women’s Runner of the Year

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama – Selections for the 2014 SEC Indoor awards, voted on by the league’s coaches, included Texas A&M junior Kamaria Brown being named the women’s Co-Runner of the Year as she shared the honor with Florida’s Cory McGee.

Brown totaled 20 points at the SEC Indoor Championships in claiming a historic double in winning the 200 and 400 meters. She is the first sprinter to accomplish the feat, male or female, in the history of the SEC Indoor. Brown recorded world leading times of 22.51 and 22.50 in the prelims and finals of the 200, becoming the fifth-fastest U.S. and collegian sprinter all-time. Her time of 50.94 broke the meet record in the 400, making her the eighth-fastest U.S. and collegian all-time with the second fastest time in the world for 2014.

The men’s Runner of the Year honor went to Arman Hall of Florida with the Field Athlete of the Year awarded to Mississippi’s Sam Kendricks. The women’s Field Athlete of the Year is Erica Bougard of Mississippi State.

Freshman honors were shared for men’s Runner of the Year between Sean Tobin of Mississippi and Arkansas’ Omar McLeod while the women’s honor went to Rebekah Greene of Florida. Freshman Field Athlete of the Year honors went to Jeremiah Green of Alabama and Kendell Williams of Georgia.

Receiving Coach of the Year honors were Arkansas’ Chris Bucknam and Mike Holloway of Florida.

First-Team All-SEC honors were awarded to winners of events at the SEC Indoor Championships while Second-Team All-SEC recognition went to second and third place finishers in the conference meet.

Earning first-team All-SEC honors for the Aggies were Kamaria Brown in the 200 and 400 meters, Deon Lendore in the 400 meters as well as in the 4x400 relay along with Shavez Hart, Aldrich Bailey, Jr., and Carlyle Roudette.

Second-team All-SEC selections for Texas A&M included Olivia Ekponé in the 60, Shavez Hart in the 200, Shamier Little in the 400, Grace Fletcher in the 5000, Wayne Davis II in the 60 hurdles, Devion Harris in the high jump, Chase Wolfle in the pole vault, LaQue Moen-Davis in the triple jump, Brea Garrett in the weight throw and the men’s distance medley relay that consisted of Isaac Spencer, Greg Coleman, Hector Hernandez and Cameron Villarreal.

Named to the SEC All-Freshman team for being the top freshman finisher in their event were A&M’s Aaliyah Brown in the 60 meters and Shamier Little in the 400 meters.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus