Media Tabs Kentucky As SEC Women’s Basketball Champion, Aggies picked 5th

By  | 

Birmingham, Ala. -- Kentucky was predicted to win the 2013 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

As the reigning SEC regular season champions, Kentucky returns 10 letterwinners and four starters from last season’s NCAA Elite Eight squad, including SEC Player of the Year A’dia Mathies, SEC Freshman of the Year Bria Goss and NCAA Tournament Kingston All-Region team member Samarie Walker. The Wildcats also welcome back sophomore guard Jennifer O’Neill, who sat out the 2011-12 season due to injury, and junior forward DeNesha Stallworth, an All-Pac-10 selection, will see her first action after sitting out last season due to transfer regulations.

Kentucky tops the order of finish with 376 points, with Georgia (352), Vanderbilt (336), Tennessee (316), Texas A&M (284), LSU (251) and South Carolina (194) rounding out the top half of the league. Arkansas (168), Florida (144), Auburn (124), Mississippi State (116), Ole Miss (47), Missouri (39) and Alabama (36) round out the bottom half.

Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with 20 votes, the remaining votes were for Vanderbilt’s Christina Foggie, Florida’s Jennifer George and Georgia’s Anne Marie Armstrong.

Joining Mathies on the All-SEC First Team are Jennifer George, Florida; Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia; Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M; and Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team and the Preseason SEC Player of the Year.

The 2012-13 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Days, October 25 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama. The SEC Women’s Basketball Coaches Poll will be released on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Preseason Media Poll
(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Kentucky (20)

Player of the Year: A’dia Mathis (20); Christina Foggie (4); Anne Marie Armstrong (1); Jennifer George (1)

Order of Finish
1. Kentucky (20) 376
2. Georgia (1) 352
3. Vanderbilt (2) 336
4. Tennessee (2) 316
5. Texas A&M (1) 284
6. LSU 251
7. South Carolina 194
8. Arkansas 168
9. Florida 144
10. Auburn 124
11. Mississippi State 116
12. Ole Miss 47
13. Missouri 39
14. Alabama 36

Jennifer George, Florida
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
A’dia Mathies, Kentucky
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

Sarah Watkins, Arkansas
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus