SHSU's Morgan Davis Named Southland Women's Indoor Track "Student-Athlete of the Year"

By  | 

Morgan Davis of Sam Houston State voted as 2013 Southland Conference women’s indoor track and field “Student-Athlete of the Year.”

Davis is receiving the honor for the second consecutive year. Since 2007, 13 Bearkats have earned “Student-Athlete of the Year” recognition in their sport a total of 16 times. Davis is the second Bearkat to earn “Student-Athlete of the Year” honors in back-to-back seasons. Ryan Bright was voted the basketball honor in both 2007 and 2008.

A senior from Waller, Texas, Davis won the pentathlon at the Southland Conference Indoor Championships for the second consecutive year in a row.

She dominated the women’s multi event competition, winning the high jump (5 feet, 1.75 inches), finishing second in the shot put (17-4.75) and claiming third in the three other events.

With a master art degree in health, a bachelor’s degree in biology and a minor in chemistry, Davis has accumulated a 3.63 grade-point average during her undergraduate career and a perfect 4.0 in graduate school.

The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 10 member universities, votes for the student-athletes of the year.

The student-athlete of the year award is presented to one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees shall have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale, and demonstrated athletics achievement for a least two years at the nominating institution.

Past Southland Conference “Student-Athlete of the Year” winners from Sam Houston include Lata Assudani (tennis 2007), Luke Prihoda (baseball 2007), Jennie Sewell (outdoor track and field 2007), Ryan Bright (men’s basketball 2007, 2008), Jennifer Heinz (women’s golf 2008), Barkley Falkner (men’s basketball 2009), Irina Sotnikova (women’s tennis 2009), Brittany Brooks (women’s basketball 2010), Chris Cralle (indoor and outdoor track and field 2011), Travis Watson (football 2011), James Glenn (men’s golf 2012), Jake Arrington (baseball 2012) and Davis (women’s indoor track 2012, 2013).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus