Seven Aggie Student Athletes Recognized For Academic Improvement

By  | 

ORLANDO, Florida -- The Scholar Baller program, in conjunction with the National Consortium for Academics and Sports (NCAS), announced the recipients of the 2013 Academic Momentum Award and of the 40 student-athletes recognized nationally, seven were Texas A&M student-athletes.

“In collegiate athletics we see young people from diverse and varied backgrounds,” Aggie Director of Athletics Eric Hyman said. “We are proud of all of our student-athletes, but there are some who have achieved success by overcoming obstacles and other circumstances that could derail others. We are especially proud of our Aggie student-athletes who have been honored and have shown the same fight and determination in achieving success on the athletics fields, as well as in the classrooms, and in our community.”

The nominations were based on each student-athlete’s academic improvement and the impact each student-athlete’s academic performance has on his or her classmates, teammates, academic advisors and professors.

The top 10 earned first-team honors and Aggie junior basketball player Kourtney Roberson, from Arcadia, Louisiana, was awarded top honors.

The next 15 student-athletes were tabbed second-team award winners with another basketball player, Fabyon Harris, a senior from Chicago, Illinois, being recognized along with Aggie sophomore tennis player Stefania Hristov from Romania.

The final 15 student-athletes earned third-team honors with four Aggies among the group led by Liliana Ibanez, a junior swimming and diving student-athlete from Mexico. Senior track and field standouts Melissa Mays from Harker Heights, Texas, and LaQue Moen-Davis, a sophomore from Omaha, Nebraska, were also honored. Rounding out the Aggie contingent honored by the organization was senior golfer Natalie Reeves from Euless, Texas.

Award nominations included stories of overcoming diversity and persevering through academic and athletic adversity, improving grade point averages through determination and intrinsic motivation, implementing programs aimed at ending violence with local communities, actively participating in community service events including Special Olympics and Habitat for Humanity, helping children become educated about the HIV/AIDS epidemic, and dealing with financial and family related difficulties.

The NCAS is an ever-growing organization of colleges and universities that provides opportunities for current and former student-athletes to continue their pursuit of higher education, while working in the community with children to address social issues. Established in 1985, the overall mission of the NCAS is “to create a better society by focusing on education attainment and using the power appeal of sport to positively affect social change.”


Listing of all three teams.

The names, schools, majors, and sports of the First Team Academic Momentum Award recipients are:

Melissa Arthur, Rutgers University, Communications, Lacrosse

Markel Brown, Oklahoma State University, Education, Basketball

Shavon Coleman, Louisiana State University, Interdisciplinary studies, Basketball

Anthony Creecy, North Carolina State, Sport Management, Football

Marion Grice, Arizona State University, Interdisciplinary Studies, Football

Larissa Melendez, Adelphi University, Exercise Science, Track and Field

Ariel Morton, Louisiana State University, Interdisciplinary Studies, Tennis

Trovon Reed, Auburn University, Rehabilitation and Disabilities Studies, Football

Kourtney Roberson, Texas A&M, Agricultural Leadership and Development, Basketball

Morgan Steigerwalt, Arizona State University, Exploratory, Gymnastics

The names, schools, majors, and sports of the Second Team Academic Momentum Award recipients are:

Mohammed Ahmed, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Political Science, Track and Field

Danielle Bowcut, Idaho State University, Radiology, Track and Field

Francisco Dias, George Washington University, Business Administration, Tennis

Fabyon Harris, Texas A&M, Youth and Development, Basketball

Stefania Hristov, Texas A&M, Sport Management, Tennis

Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic University, Criminal Justice, Football

Ashley Kotero, Auburn University, Public Administration, Soccer

Danni Jackson, George Washington University, Leadership Development, Basketball

Alysha Lewis, Florida International University, Track and Field

David Lewis, Adelphi University, Management Information Services, Track and Field

Devin Marshall, Arizona State University, Family and Human Development, Soccer

Denzell Perine, Florida International University, Criminal Justice, Football

Michael Quinn, Florida Atlantic University, International Business, Soccer

Nick Visicaro, Rutgers University, Human Resources and Labor Studies, Wrestling

Erin Willoughby, Oklahoma State University, Undecided, Equestrian

The names, schools, majors, and sports of the Third Team Academic Momentum Award recipients are:

Promise Amukamara, Arizona State University, Communications, Basketball

Dana Costello, Monmouth University, Health and Physical Education, Soccer

Michael Franco, Florida International University, Criminal Justice, Baseball

Sophie Godley, Florida International University, Recreation & Sports Management, Golf

Liliana Ibañez, Texas A&M, Urban and Regional Science, Swimming

Tyler Iocco, Queens College, Physical Education, Soccer

Ed Kramer, Monmouth University, Business, Track and Field

Melissa Mays, Texas A&M, Agricultural Leadership and Development, Track and Field

Riley McCormick, Arizona State University, Family Studies, Diving

LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M, Agricultural Leadership and Development, Track and Field

Natalie Reeves, Texas A&M, Agricultural Leadership and Development, Golf,

Lorena Russi, Queens College, Media Studies, Soccer

Kayvon Sherrill, Florida Atlantic University, Criminal Justice, Football

Morgan Toles, Florida State University, Social Science, Basketball

Jonathan Wallace, Florida Atlantic University, Sociology, Football

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus