Student-Athlete Scholars Honored at CHAMPS Banquet

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- More than 500 Aggie student-athletes were honored at the annual Texas A&M Athletics CHAMPS Banquet, sponsored by Carolyn Lohman and in honor of Tommie Lohman ’59, on Wednesday at The Zone at Kyle Field.

A total of 505 student-athletes and student support staff were honored for achieving a semester or cumulative 3.0 grade point average or higher during the 2012-13 school year, including 62 who were named Outstanding Athletic Scholars for posting a perfect 4.0 GPA for at least one semester.

“I was truly impressed by the number of our student-athletes at the CHAMPS Banquet,” Texas A&M Director of Athletics Eric Hyman stated. “I am so proud of our young people as well as the academic support staff, professors and faculty across the Texas A&M campus that foster a successful learning environment.”

A variety of honors were awarded at the CHAMPS banquet, including:

Bill Erwin Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Named for longtime Texas A&M athletics supporter and local philanthropist Bill Erwin, the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is given to a male and female student-athlete who is in their final year of athletic eligibility and demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic performance.
Male: Case Cochran, Men’s Golf
Female: Amanda Brightwell, Equestrian

Distinguished Lettermen’s Award – Presented to top male and female student-athletes of the year who have demonstrated outstanding athletic performance.
Male: Henry Lelei, Track and Field
Female: Mel Dumezich, Softball

Lohman Learning Achievement Award – Recognizes a student-athlete who has demonstrated integrity and perseverance in overcoming incredible challenges in pursuit of their education; who shows commitment to working with and learning from others, and serves as a role model for others.
Fabyon Harris, Men’s Basketball

Freshman of the Year
Male: Johnny Manziel, Football
Female: Shelbi Vaughn, Track and Field/Volleyball

Award of Excellence – The Award of Excellence is a way for student-athletes to honor an Athletics Department staff member for his or her dedication and support of student-athletes.
Janice Williams (Nye Academic Center Office Assistant)

Cleo Whitlock Award – Named in honor of avid Texas A&M athletics supporter Cleo Whitlock, this award honors a person outside the Athletics Department who has gone above and beyond in his or her support of Texas A&M student-athletes and athletic programs.
Dr. William Collopy (Texas A&M Department of History)

Class Star Awards – Given by the Texas A&M Class Councils to one student-athlete from each class year in five areas of excellence: academics, athletics, leadership, service and spirit.
Class of 2013: Megan Pendergast, Volleyball
Class of 2014: Breeja Larson, Women’s Swimming and Diving
Class of 2015: Deon Lendore, Men’s Track and Field
Class of 2016: Courtney Walker, Women’s Basketball

Brad Davis SEC Community Service Postgraduate Scholarship – Given to an athlete with a minimum GPA of 2.75 who plans to enroll in graduate school or professional school within five years of selection and has shown a commitment to serving others in the university, or other communities through participation in various service projects and activities.
Male: Steven Terrell, Football
Female: Bethany West, Soccer

H. Boyd McWhorter Postgraduate Scholarship – Criteria for the H. Boyd McWhorter Post Graduate Scholarship include a cumulative GPA of 3.2, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at a SEC institution and must enroll in graduate/professional school within 15 months of selection.
Male: Case Cochran, Men’s Golf
Female: Lindsey Miller, Volleyball

High Team GPA (3.0 or higher)
Volleyball, Equestrian, Women’s Swimming and Diving, Women’s Tennis, Women’s Soccer and Men’s Tennis

Highest Team GPA
Volleyball (3.288 GPA)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus