Texas A&M ranked No. 18 in final top 25 polls

By  | 

Texas A&M’s nine-win season coupled with the team’s third straight bowl victory pushed the Aggies to a No. 18 final ranking in both major top 25 polls on Tuesday.

It was the second straight season that the Aggies earned a final top 25 ranking, which hadn’t been done at Texas A&M in more than a decade. 2013’s No. 18 ranking in the Associated Press media poll and the USA Today head coaches poll came on the heels of last year’s historic No. 5 finish. The last time A&M earned consecutive AP top 25 final rankings was 1998 and 1999 when the Aggies finished No. 11 and No. 23, respectively.

With nine wins in 2013, the Aggies have won 20 total games in head coach Kevin Sumlin’s first two seasons at Texas A&M, which is a record for A&M head coaches. No other A&M head coach has won more than 18 games in his first two seasons in Aggieland. It was the first time since 1997 and 1998 that the Aggies won at least nine games in consecutive seasons.

The Aggies’ 52-48 win over Duke in the Chick-fila-A Bowl was historic because it featured the largest comeback in school history (21 points) and gave A&M bowl wins in three straight seasons for the first time. Sumlin became the first A&M head coach to post bowl game wins in his first two seasons in College Station, and he joined College Football Hall of Fame member Homer Norton as the only A&M head coaches to win bowl games in consecutive seasons.

The 2013 Aggies produced three first-team All-Americans in wide receiver Mike Evans, punter Drew Kaser and offensive tackle Jake Matthews. The trio were finalists for the a variety of national awards – Evans for the Biletnikoff Award (best receiver), Kaser for the Ray Guy Award (best punter) and Matthews for the Outland Trophy (top interior lineman) and the Senior CLASS Award. Matthews also won the Seminole Tribe Bobby Bowden Award from the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA).

Sophomore quarterback Johnny Manziel was a second-team All-American and a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. He was also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Davey O’Brien Award, the Hornung Award, the Manning Award and the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

AP Top 25
1 Florida State (60) 14-0 1500
2 Auburn 12-2 1428
3 Michigan State 13-1 1385
4 South Carolina 11-2 1247
5 Missouri 12-2 1236
6 Oklahoma 11-2 1205
7 Alabama 11-2 1114
8 Clemson 11-2 1078
9 Oregon 11-2 974
10 UCF 12-1 959
11 Stanford 11-3 936
12 Ohio State 12-2 816
13 Baylor 11-2 778
14 LSU 10-3 717
15 Louisville 12-1 693
16 UCLA 10-3 632
17 Oklahoma State 10-3 598
18 Texas A&M 9-4 459
19 USC 10-4 299
20 Notre Dame 9-4 256
21 Arizona State 10-4 255
22 Wisconsin 9-4 245
23 Duke 10-4 190
24 Vanderbilt 9-4 117
25 Washington 9-4 109

Others receiving votes: Nebraska 107, Fresno State 57, Northern Illinois 22, North Dakota State 17, Texas Tech 14, Georgia 13, Iowa 13, Ole Miss 10, Kansas State 8, Arizona 5, Navy 3, Utah State 2, East Carolina 2, Mississippi State 1

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus