Thirteen Aggies Named All-Southeastern Conference

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --- Thirteen Texas A&M swimmers and divers were named to the All-Southeastern Conference Swimming & Diving team on Thursday, including Female Swimmer of the Year Breeja Larson, as voted on by the league head coaches.

Larson, a junior from Mesa, Ariz., received the SEC’s top honor after she won a pair of individual titles and helped an Aggie relay to a conference crown, all in record-setting fashion. Larson broke her own SEC, NCAA, American and U.S. Open record while winning the 100-yard breaststroke in 57.43. She also broke the SEC meet record in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 205.71. She was nearly two seconds faster than any other breaststroker in the field in the 400 medley relay as the Aggies set the SEC meet record with a time of 3:28.93.

Joining Larson on the first-team All-SEC squad were redshirt junior Sarah Henry, junior Cammile Adams, junior Paige Miller, junior Caroline McElhany and redshirt sophomore Lili Ibanez. On the second-team All-SEC squads were senior Tess Simpson, junior Erica Dittmer, senior Becca St. Germain and sophomore Jessica Macaulay from the women’s team and senior John Dalton and sophomore Ford McLiney from the men’s team. Being named to the All-Freshman team was Ashley McGregor.

The All-SEC first team consists of the winner of each event while the second team is comprised of second place finishers of each event. The All-Freshman teams consist of any redshirt or true freshman who finishes either in the top eight or is the highest scoring freshman of each event, excluding relay events.

SEC Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving Awards

2013 Female Swimmer of the Year
Breeja Larson, Texas A&M

2013 SEC Male Swimmer of the Year
Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn

2013 Female Freshman Swimmer of the Year
Natalie Hinds, Florida

2013 SEC Male Freshman Swimmer of the Year
Chase Kalisz, Georgia

2013 SEC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year
Jack Bauerle, Georgia

2013 SEC Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year
Gregg Troy, Florida

2013 SEC Female Diver of the Year
Tori Lamp, Tennessee

2013 SEC Male Diver of the Year
David Bonuchi, Missouri

2013 SEC Female Freshman Diver of the Year
Cassie Weil, LSU

2013 SEC Male Freshman Diver of the Year
Clark Thomas, Missouri

2013 SEC Women’s Diving Coach of the Year
Dave Parrington, Tennessee

2013 SEC Men’s Diving Coach of the Year
Jamie Sweeney, Missouri

2013 SEC Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Elizabeth Beisel, Florida

2013 SEC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Andrew Gemmell, Georgia

Commissioner’s Trophy
David Bonuchi, Missouri (91.5 pts)
Elizabeth Beisel, Florida (92 pts)

Women’s First Team All-SEC
Elizabeth Beisel, Florida
Natalie Hinds, Florida
Laura Ryan, Georgia
Shannon Vreeland, Georgia
Megan Romano, Georgia
Jordan Mattern, Georgia
Allison Schmitt, Georgia
Melanie Margalis, Georgia
Chantal Van Landeghem, Georgia
Maddie Locus, Georgia
Loren Figueroa, Missouri
Lauren Solernou, Tennessee
Molly Hannis, Tennessee
Kelsey Floyd, Tennessee
Faith Johnson, Tennessee
Lindsay Gendron, Tennessee
Tori Lamp, Tennessee
Sarah Henry, Texas A&M
Cammile Adams, Texas A&M
Paige Miller, Texas A&M
Breeja Larson, Texas A&M
Caroline McElhany, Texas A&M
Liliana Ibáñez, Texas A&M

Men’s First Team All-SEC
Kyle Owens, Auburn
Stuart Ferguson, Auburn
Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn
James Disney-May, Auburn
TJ Leon, Auburn
Arthur Mendes, Auburn
Zane Grothe, Auburn
John Santeiu, Auburn
Pawel Werner, Florida
Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
Eduardo Solaeche Gomez, Florida
Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Matthew Elliott, Florida
Chase Kalisz, Georgia
Matias Koski, Georgia
Nic Fink, Georgia
David Bonuchi, Missouri

Women’s Second Team All-SEC
Olivia Scott, Auburn
Amber McDermott, Georgia
Annie Zhu, Georgia
Sinead Russell, Florida
Hilda Luthersdottir, Florida
Ellese Zalewski, Florida
Jamie Bohunicky, Florida
Jessica Thielmann, Florida
Lauren Harrington, Georgia
Jodie McGroarty, Tennessee
Caroline Simmons, Tennessee
Tess Simpson, Texas A&M
Erica Dittmer, Texas A&M
Rebecca St. Germain, Texas A&M
Jessica Macaulay, Texas A&M

Men’s Second Team All-SEC
Brad deBorde, Florida
Corey Main, Florida
Matthew Curby, Florida
Dan Wallace, Florida
Will Freeman, Georgia
Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky
Igor Kozlovskij, Missouri
Michael Flach, South Carolina
Sam Rairden, Tennessee
Renato Prono, Tennessee
Oystein Hetland, Tennessee
Ed Walsh, Tennessee
Gustav Aberg Lejdstrom, Tennessee
Tristan Slater, Tennessee
Sam Lenhane, Tennessee
John Dalton, Texas A&M
Ford McLiney, Texas A&M

All-Freshman Team
Cassie Weil, LSU
Jessica Thielmann, Florida
Kahlia Warner, Florida
Natalie Hinds, Florida
Sinead Russell, Florida
Annie Zhu, Georgia
Chantal Van Landeghem, Georgia
Hali Flickinger, Georgia
Faith Johnson, Tennessee
Sam Lera, Tennessee
Ashley McGregor, Texas A&M

Arthur Mendes, Auburn
Andrew Laing, Auburn
Corey Main, Florida
Arthur Frayler, Florida
Matias Koski, Georgia
Chase Kalisz, Georgia
Matt Ellis, Georgia
Pawel Werner, Florida
Gabriel Rooker, LSU
Clark Thomas, Missouri

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus