Thorpe Award Watch List Includes Four From SEC

By  | 

Oklahoma City — The Jim Thorpe Award 2013 watch list announced today includes 48 of the nation’s best defensive backs, representing eight conferences and one independent.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compile a list of 30-50 players. The list is not final, and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses. The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, 2013 on ESPN.

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 4, 2014 in Oklahoma City, OK.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

2013 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List

Kenneth Acker, Southern Methodist (CB), Sr.

Ricardo Allen, Purdue (CB), Sr.

Dion Bailey, Southern California (S), Sr.

C.J. Barnett, Ohio State (S), Sr.

Bene Benwikere, San Jose State (S), Sr.

Nat Berhe, San Diego State (S), Sr.

Tre Boston, North Carolina (S), Sr.

Christian Bryant, Ohio State (S), Sr.

Deone Bucannon, Washington State (S), Sr.

Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee State (S), So.

Carrington Byndom, Texas (CB), Sr.

Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern (S), Jr.

Sam Carter, Texas Christian (S), Jr.

Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (S), Jr.

Ross Cockrell, Duke (CB), Sr.

Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma (S), Sr.

Alden Darby, Arizona State (S), Sr.

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State (CB), Sr.

Quandre Diggs, Texas (CB), Jr.

Ahmad Dixon, Baylor (S), Sr.

Jonathan Dowling, Western Kentucky (S), Jr.

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon (CB), Jr.

Ciante Evans, Nebraska (CB), Sr.

Antone Exum, Virginia Tech (CB), Sr.

Phillip Gaines, Rice (CB), Sr.

Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (S), Sr.

Najja Johnson, Buffalo (S), Sr.

L. J. Jones, Fresno State (S), Sr.

Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (CB), Sr.

Isaiah Lewis , Michigan State (S), Sr.

Craig Loston, Louisiana State (S), Sr.

Daytawion Lowe, Oklahoma State (S), Sr.

Terrance Mitchell, Oregon (S), Jr.

Marco Nelson, Tulsa (S), Sr.

Isaiah Newsome, Louisiana at Monroe (S), Sr.

Dayonne Nunley, Miami, OH (CB), Sr.

Calvin Pryor, Louisville (S), Jr.

Ed Reynolds, Stanford (S), Sr.

Rashaad Reynolds, Oregon State (CB), Sr.

Jordan Richards, Stanford (S), Jr.

Bradley Roby, Ohio State (CB), Jr.

Derron Smith, Fresno State (S), Jr.

Hakeem Smith, Louisville (S), Sr.

Damian Swann, Georgia (CB), Jr.

Jason Verrett Texas Christian (CB), Sr.

Jimmie Ward, Northern Illinois (S), Sr.

Deron Wilson, Southern Mississippi (S), Sr.

Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State (S), Sr

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus