Throckmorton tops Abbott, 72-30, for 6-man repeat

By  | 

ABILENE, Texas (AP) - Bryson Oliver threw for 256 yards and five touchdowns on just seven completions and Throckmorton won its second straight six-man Division I championship with a 72-30 victory against Abbott on Saturday night.

Oliver had scoring tosses of 46, 66 and 47 yards to Gary Farquhar, who had five catches for 190 yards. Farquhar had 14 tackles and a fumble recovery on defense.

Throckmorton (14-1) won its third six-man title since 2005, while Abbott lost its first bid for a state title in a game that featured seven scoring plays of 46 yards or longer.

Tyler Russell rushed for 197 yards and two touchdowns and Dillon Beims added 142 yards and a score for Abbott (12-3).

Levi Taylor had two touchdown runs for Throckmorton, and Hayden Farquhar caught TD passes of 68 and 25 yards from Rawlin Morrell and Taylor.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus