Twenty-four Aggies named to SEC Honor Roll

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama -- Twenty-four Texas A&M swimmers and divers were named the 2012‐13 Winter Southeastern Conference Academic Honor Roll on Tuesday, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced.

Earning spots from the men’s team were: seniors Maxwell Lewis, Wesley Wheeler, John Wagner, Nick Han and Austin Wilson; juniors Antonio Page-Kahn, Omar Enriquez, Donnie Walker, Paul Marc Schweitzer and Simon Frank; and sophomores Albert Riley and Luke Shaw.

From the women’s squad were: seniors Meagan Hairston, Jaclin Rehring, Maureen McLaine, Liz Nelson, Tess Simpson and Christine Regone; juniors Caroline McElhany and Allyson Sweeney; and sophomores Ellen Quirke, Kelli Benjamin, Emily Neubert and Sarah Henry.

Any student‐athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student‐athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAASports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll.

The 2012‐13 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2012 Spring, Summer and Fall terms.

The following criteria was followed: (1) A student‐athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student‐athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student‐athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and nonscholarship student‐athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student‐athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non‐remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student‐athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

Texas A&M Swimming & Diving on the SEC Honor Roll
Men’s Team:
Albert Riley, General Studies
Antonio Page‐Kahn, Sociology
Maxwell Lewis, Allied Health
Wesley Wheeler, Information and Operations Management
John Wagner, Petroleum Engineering
Nick Han, Kinesiology—Motor Behavior
Omar Enriquez, Petroleum Engineering
Luke Shaw, Sport Management
Donnie Walker, Finance
Paul‐Marc Schweitzer, Industrial Engineering
Austin Wilson, Accounting
Simon Frank, Industrial Distribution

Women’s Team:
Ellen Quirke, Kinesiology—Applied Exercise Physiology
Kelli Benjamin, Interdisciplinary Studies
Meagan Hairston, Biology
Jaclin Rehring, Allied Health
Maureen McLaine, Environmental Design
Liz Nelson, Allied Health
Tess Simpson, Biochemistry
Christine Regone, Allied Health
Emily Neubert, Information and Operations Management
Caroline McElhany, Allied Health
Sarah Henry, Physics
Allyson Sweeney, Kinesiology

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus