Walker, Williams, Jones Named to All-SEC Teams

By  | 

Three Texas A&M women’s basketball players received all-conference honors, the SEC announced Tuesday. Courtney Walker was named First Team All-SEC, Courtney Williams was named Second Team All-SEC and Jordan Jones was named SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Year and to the SEC All-Defensive Team.

Sophomore Courtney Walker averaged 15.8 points per game in SEC play, which ranked 10th in the league. She was named SEC Player of the Week on Jan. 20 after averaging 17.0 points in wins over South Carolina and Mississippi State. An SEC All-Freshman selection in 2012-13, Walker is making her first appearance on the All-SEC First Team.

Sophomore Courtney Williams received her first All-SEC honor, being named to the conference’s second team. Williams averaged 14.6 points per game in league play, which ranked 14th in the league. Williams averaged 17.8 points during the Aggies’ nine game winning streak, including four straight 20+ point games, making her the first Aggie to have four straight 20+ scoring games since Danielle Adams in 2010-11.

Sophomore Jordan Jones was named SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Year and to the SEC All-Defensive Team. Jones ranked third in the SEC in steals, and leads the league in assists. Jones created key turnovers late in games that led to huge scores in the Aggies’ wins against LSU, South Carolina and Georgia. On Feb. 27, Jones posted the third triple double in A&M history and currently sits 26 assists away from A&M’s single-season record. Jones was named SEC Player of the Week on Mar. 3.

The Aggies return to action at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, March 7 in the quarterfinal of the SEC Tournament against Auburn, Arkansas or Ole Miss. The game is televised on FSN.

First Team
Tyrese Tanner, Auburn
Jaterra Bonds, Florida
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Bri Kulas, Missouri
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

Second Team
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Tia Faleru, Ole Miss
Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

Ashley Williams, Alabama
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Brandy Montgomery, Auburn
Ronni Williams, Florida
Linnae Harper, Kentucky
Raigyne Moncrief, LSU
Breanna Richardson, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Andraya Carter, Tennessee

Tyrese Tanner, Auburn
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Elem Ibiam, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Coach of the Year: Dawn Staley, South Carolina
Player of the Year: Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Freshman of the Year: Alaina Coats, South Carolina
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Martha Alwal, Mississippi State / Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Co-6th Players of the Year: Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky / Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Scholar- Athlete of the Year: Lianna Doty, Missouri

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus