Throckmorton tops Abbott, 72-30, for 6-man repeat

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

ABILENE, Texas (AP) - Bryson Oliver threw for 256 yards and five touchdowns on just seven completions and Throckmorton won its second straight six-man Division I championship with a 72-30 victory against Abbott on Saturday night.

Oliver had scoring tosses of 46, 66 and 47 yards to Gary Farquhar, who had five catches for 190 yards. Farquhar had 14 tackles and a fumble recovery on defense.

Throckmorton (14-1) won its third six-man title since 2005, while Abbott lost its first bid for a state title in a game that featured seven scoring plays of 46 yards or longer.

Tyler Russell rushed for 197 yards and two touchdowns and Dillon Beims added 142 yards and a score for Abbott (12-3).

Levi Taylor had two touchdown runs for Throckmorton, and Hayden Farquhar caught TD passes of 68 and 25 yards from Rawlin Morrell and Taylor.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183669321 -
Gray Television, Inc.