Christmas Girls Hoops In Aggieland

By: B/CS Convention & Visitors Bureau
By: B/CS Convention & Visitors Bureau

For 20 years now, the day after Christmas in Bryan-College Station has grown to mean one thing: exciting high school basketball. The B/CS Convention and Visitors Bureau is set to welcome 56 girls teams and their families from across the state of Texas for the annual McDonald’s All-Star Basketball Invitational, scheduled for December 26 through 28 in the twin cities.

“We’re excited to be the host again for this great tournament,” said Kindra Fry, Vice President of Sales & Marketing. “Each year, we’re just blown away at how the tournament grows in size and the level of
competition that you see over the three days.”

The tournament features girls teams from the five different A-divisions of the Texas UIL (University Interscholastic League), broken into two tournament brackets: 4A and 5A schools in the “division 1” category and 1A-3A schools in the “division 2” category. The games will be played at the four local high schools in Bryan and College Station: Rudder High, Bryan High, A&M Consolidated, and College Station High. All four of those B/CS schools will be participating in the tournament.

Other teams of note includes 4A Montgomery ranked 23rd in the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches (TABC) poll, 10th ranked 3A Fairfield, 18th ranked 3A Needville, 9th ranked 2A Grandview,
10th ranked 2A Paradise, and the 1st ranked 1A Martins Mill.
The first games begin at 10 am on Thursday December 26 and run through 5:30 pm that day spread across the four local high school gyms. Second rounds and consolation rounds begin at 9:30 am on Friday December 27, with the championship games for the Division 1 bracket set for Friday December 28 at 11am at the A&M Consolidated gym and Division 2 bracket at 12:30 pm at the College Station High gym.

The general public is able to attend the games for $15 for an all-weekend tournament pass, or for $8 for individual day pass. Reduced pricing is available for students and seniors as well, with full passes for $10 and day passes for $5 each (full weekend passes will not be “prorated” after the first day). Tickets may be
purchased at the front door of any of the four gyms. Full weekend passes are good to be used at any time, at any of the four gyms.
The event is sponsored by McDonald’s, who is celebrating their 20th year as the title sponsor of the event.

Division 1 Teams:
A&M Consolidated High School (College Station, TX), Austin, Bryan, Burleson Centennial, Cleburne, Conroe, Copperas Cove, Fort Bend Travis High (Richmond, TX), Foster High (Richmond, TX), Franklin,
Harker Heights, Hardin Jefferson High (Sour Lake, TX), Kingwood, La Porte, Magnolia West, Montgomery, Oak Ridge (Conroe, TX), Pasadena Memorial High, Lufkin, Pflugerville Connally, Round
Rock Cedar Ridge, Rudder High (Bryan, TX), Bellaire, Sam Rayburn High (Pasadena, TX), Seven Lakes (Katy, TX), Shoemaker (Killeen, TX), Socorro (El Paso, TX), Thomas Jefferson High (Dallas, TX),
Victoria East, W.B. Ray High (Corpus Christi, TX), Westfield (Houston, TX), Wheatley (Houston, TX)

Division 2 Teams:

Big Sandy Dallardsville High, Brentwood Christian (Austin, TX), Centerville High, China Springs, College Station High, East Chambers (Winnie, TX), Fairfield, Glen Rose, Grandview, Hudson, Iola, Lexington, Maypearl, Mt. Vernon, Needville High, Normangee, Paradise High, Sam Rayburn High, Stafford High, Triple A Academy (Dallas, TX), Wortham, Zavalla High, Martins Mill, Hamshire-Fannett

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 237095101 -
Gray Television, Inc.