College Station Has Seven Named to 2014 TSWA All-Class 3A Baseball Team

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

BRYAN, Texas (AP) - College Station catcher Baylor Rowlett and outfielder Ryan Johnson shared Player of the Year honors on the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 3A All-State Baseball Team.

Rowlett, an Oklahoma State pledge, batted .445 with eight home runs and 51 runs batted in. Johnson, a TCU pledge, batted .380 with six homers and 50 RBIs. The two juniors led College Station to a state title in only its second year of varsity competition.

Here is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 3A All-State Baseball Team:


Pitchers - Drew Gooch, Argyle, sr.; Trey Supak, La Grange, sr.; and Tyler Kolek, Shepherd, sr.

Catcher - Baylor Rowlett, College Station, jr.

First baseman - Parker Mushinski, Argyle, sr.

Second baseman - Jaxxon Grisham, College Station, jr.

Shortstop - Ted Wisdom, Sanger, sr.

Third baseman - Jonathan Castillo, Perryton, jr.

Outfielders - Ryan Johnson, College Station, jr.; Zac Law, Robinson, sr.; and Clayton Harp, El Campo, jr.

Designated hitter - Blaine Suehs, Caldwell, sr.

Utility - (tie) Dylan Lemons, Alvarado, sr., and Austin Smith, Huffman-Hargrave, sr.

Player of the year - (tie) Rowlett and Johnson, both College Station

Coach of the year - Scott Holder, College Station


Pitchers - MacGregor Hines, College Station, jr.; Rody Johnson, Iowa Park, sr.; and (tie) Brayden Griffin, Silsbee, sr., and Tanner Doucette, Lubbock Cooper, sr.

Catcher - Hunter Uzzle, Bridge City, sr.

First baseman - Greg Aiken, Sweetwater, sr.

Second baseman - Dylan Dougherty, Hidalgo, fr.

Shortstop - (tie) Timmy Blakeney, Yoakum, sr., and Donivan Lopez, Sinton, sr.

Third baseman - Michael Davila, Robinson, soph.

Outfielders - Cody Berryman, Shallowater, sr.; William Rittenberry, Carthage, sr.; and Trey Jeans, Pleasant Grove, sr.

Designated hitter - Brian Rios, Fort Stockton, sr.

Utility - Jordan Gore, Silsbee, sr.


Pitchers - Trey Burk, Sinton, sr.; (tie) Kyle Richardson, College Station, soph., Josh Raiborn, Rusk, jr., and Evan Pontley, Ferris, sr.; and Chase Shugart, Bridge City, jr.

Catcher -Stephen Barrera, West Columbia, sr.

First baseman - (tie) Brady Brunson, Burkburnett, sr., and Tanner James, Robinson, soph.

Second baseman - Justin Trevino, LaVernia, sr.

Shortstop - Nate Adames, Rio Hondo, sr.

Third baseman - Skillet Rinehart, Snyder, sr.

Outfielders - Anthony Escobedo, Sanger, jr.; Jeffrey Trujillo, Pecos, sr.; and (tie) Clint Davis, Cuero, sr., Cutter McDonald, Argyle, jr., Cade Cruce, Melissa, sr., and Jordan Salas, Lubbock Cooper, soph.

Designated hitter - Mikey Freeze, Graham, jr.

Utility - (tie) Vijay Stingley, Rusk, sr., and Westyn Swenson, Iowa Park, jr.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 268194262 -
Gray Television, Inc.