Bryan's Amador Named To First Team TSWA Class 5A All State Team

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

BRYAN, Texas (AP) -- Flower Mound's Kyle Johnston is Player of the Year on the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 5A All-State Baseball Team.

Johnston was 11-2 with a 0.48 earned run average in pitching Johnston to the state title. The Texas signee was 5-0 in the postseason with 60 strikeouts and eight walks.

Here is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 5A All-State Baseball Team:


Pitchers - Kyle Johnston, Lewisville Flower Mound, sr.; Troy Montemayor, San Antonio Reagan, sr.; and Aaron Fletcher, Houston Langham Creek, sr.

Catcher - Joe Davis, Austin Bowie, sr.

First baseman - Chris Andritsos, Conroe The Woodlands, jr.

Second baseman - Undrae Galindo, Weslaco, jr.

Shortstop - Connor Wong, Pearland, sr.

Third baseman - Jacob Barfield, Pearland, sr.

Outfielders - Darius Hill, Dallas Jesuit, jr.; Connor Wanhanen, Flower Mound, sr.; and Trent Clark, N. Richland Hills, jr.

Utility - Willy Amador, Bryan, sr.

Designated hitter - R.J. Williams, Rockwall Heath, sr.

Player of the year - Johnston, Lewisville Flower Mound

Coach of the year - Danny Wallace, Lewisville Flower Mound


Pitchers - Ryan Jackson, McAllen Rowe, sr.; Ben Leeper, Southlake Carroll, jr.; and (tie) Reid Petty, Mansfield, sr., and Rene Pineda, Corpus Christi Carroll, sr.

Catcher - Gavin Johnson, San Antonio O'Connor, jr.

First baseman - Harrison Hill, League City Clear Creek, jr.

Second baseman - Omar Salinas, Arlington, sr.

Shortstop - Travis Jones, Humble Atascocita, sr.

Third baseman - Raymond Salazar, Amarillo Tascosa, sr.

Outfielders - Kyler Murray, Allen, jr.; Cody Farhat, Plano, jr.; and Richard Cunningham, Austin, sr.

Utility - Turner Larkins, Arlington Martin, sr.

Designated hitter - (tie) Cal Hernandez, Coppell, sr., and Landon Etzel, League City Clear Creek, soph.


Pitchers - Connor Mayes, Lake Travis, sr.; Brady Basso, Pearland, soph.; and (tie) Joe Heineman, Southlake Carroll, sr., Jackson Lancaster, Midland, sr., Davis Martin, San Angelo Central, jr., and Chris Rocha, Palmview, sr.

Catcher - Cory Gallegos, Corpus Christi Carroll, sr.

First baseman - (tie) Jose Esquivel, Edinburg North, sr., and Armando Lopez, Eagle Pass, jr.

Second baseman - Josh Minjarez, San Angelo Central, jr.

Shortstop - (tie) Tristan Gray, Fort Bend Elkins, sr., and Josh Jung, San Antonio MacArthur, soph.

Third baseman - (tie) Jose Rodriguez, San Antonio O'Connor, sr., and Michael Berglund, Corpus Christi Carroll, soph.

Outfielders - Zach Galm, San Antonio O'Connor, sr.; Jason Helms, Klein Collins, sr.; and Jared Janczak, Belton, sr.

Utility - Brock Barger, San Angelo Central, sr.

Designated hitter - Drew Judson, Lake Travis, sr.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 268528302 -
Gray Television, Inc.