Sun Angel Track Classic offers intriguing match-ups for No. 1/No. 4 Aggiess

By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Shawn Price
By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Shawn Price

TEMPE, Arizona – Texas A&M, with the women’s team ranked No. 1 nationally and the men ranked No. 4, will compete in the 35th annual Sun Angel Track Classic on the Arizona State campus this weekend.

In addition to the Aggies and host Sun Devils, the field at the Sun Angel Classic includes Academy of Art, Boise State, Central Arizona, DePaul, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Northern Arizona, Penn State, San Francisco, UC Davis, UC Riverside, and UC San Diego.

Texas A&M will have a few athletes competing on Friday in the hammer while the bulk of the meet takes place Saturday with a day session and an evening session.

Current U.S. and collegiate discus leader Shelbi Vaughan will square off against the defending NCAA champion in the discus with Arizona State’s Anna Jelmini. Both have collegiate career best marks of 198-10 as they share the No. 10 position on the all-time U.S. collegians list.

Ranked No. 10 in the world for the 2014 season, Vaughan set her personal best in defending her Texas Relays title and followed that performance with a 198-5 win at the Stanford Invitational this past weekend.

Jelmini has contested the discus once this season, placing third at the Arizona State Invitational with a mark of 178-11. She finished second at last year’s Sun Angel meet with a 194-1 effort. Also in the discus field is post-collegian Liz Podominick, the defending Sun Angel champion, who won the 2013 title with a 194-10.

Deon Lendore returns to action in the 400 and 4x400 relay this weekend. Lendore and Carlyle Roudette are in the same section of the 400 along with former Aggie teammate Ameer Webb. In the short sprints Michael Bryan and Shavez Hart will run the 100 and 200 meters with Prezel Hardy, Jr. joining the pair in the 200.

Kamaria Brown contests her first outdoor individual race after running a relay leg in the 4x400 at Stanford last week. Brown and Ibukun Mayungbe are in the 400 with former A&M NCAA champion Jessica Beard. The Aggies will have a crew of six in the 100 and 200 meters. Aaliyah Brown, Ashley Collier, Olivia Ekponé are entered in both sprints. Jennifer Madu and India Daniels are also in the 100 while Ashton Purvis in slated for the 200.

In relay action the women are scheduled to have a pair of 4x100 relay teams with one 4x400 crew while the men will have two 4x400 units and a 4x100 squad.

Shamier Little, the current world junior leader in the 400 hurdles with a 57.58, will compete in the event again this week with teammate Janeil Bellille joining her. Penn State has three entries in the race with Kiah Seymore, who has run 57.12 this season, leading that trio.

Following a 22 foot improvement in the hammer, Brea Garrett will try to challenge the A&M school record of 200-0 after winning the collegiate division event at Stanford with a 192-6. Alison Ondrusek, who improved to 172-11, joins Garrett in the Sun Angel field. Casey Strong and Austin Cook will compete in the men’s hammer field on Friday as well.

Chase Wolfle will pole vault amid a field that includes four vaulters from Kansas. Wolfle and Jayhawk Casey Bowen both cleared 18-0.5 when they competed at the Texas Relays earlier this season. Also in the field is Minnesota’s Zach Ziegmeier, who cleared 17-8.5 in an earlier meet at Arizona State.

In the women’s pole vault Aggie Brittany Wooten is in a 10-person field that includes the defending champion Natalia Bartnovskaya, who cleared 14-5.5 for the win last season.

After winning the long jump at Stanford and sharing SEC Field Athlete of the Week honors, Olabanji Asekun is in the triple jump this weekend with teammate Jeffrey Prothro. The women’s triple jump will have a quartet of jumpers from A&M that includes LaQue Moen-Davis, Melissa Mays, Jordan Wilson and Haley Gooch.

In middle distance races Isaac Spencer and Cameron Villarreal will race in the mile while Hector Hernandez and Josh Hernandez are in the top section of the 800 meters. On the women’s side Grace Fletcher and Ashley Chamberlain race in the same section of the 1500 while Katie Williard competes in the main section of the 800.



100: Michael Bryan, Shavez Hart, Andries van der Merwe

200: Michael Bryan, Prezel Hardy, Jr., Shavez Hart

400: Deon Lendore, Carlyle Roudette, Deon Hickey

800: Hector Hernandez, Josh Hernandez, Cameron Cardwell, Gaines Kinsey, Brett Schmit,

1500: Aaron Murray

Mile: Isaac Spencer, Cameron Villarreal

Steeple: Dylan Williams

110H: Daniel Martin, Kenneth Minkah, Andries van der Merwe

400H: Gregory Coleman, Kenneth Minkah

4x100: Texas A&M

4x400: Texas A&M A & B

HJ: Devion Harris

PV: Chase Wolfle, Clifton Harlin

LJ: Daniel Martin

TJ: Olabanji Asekun, Jeffrey Prothro

SP: Jeff Bartlett, Casey Strong

DT: Dalton Rowan, Jeff Bartlett, Ben Skrla

HT: Casey Strong, Austin Cook

JT: Devin Bogert, Daniel Martin


100: Aaliyah Brown, Ashley Collier, Olivia Ekpone, India Daniels, Jennifer Madu

200: Aaliyah Brown, Ashley Collier, Olivia Ekpone, Ashton Purvis

400: Kamaria Brown, Ibukun Mayungbe

800: Ashley Chamberlain, Katie Willard

1500: Ashley Chamberlain, Grace Fletcher

100H: Jena Hemann, LaQue Moen-Davis

400H: Janeil Bellille, Shamier Little, Jessica Laseak

4x100: Texas A&M A & B

4x400: Texas A&M

HJ: Kara Erickson, Jena Hemann, Sierra Patrick

PV: Brittany Wooten

TJ: Haley Gooch, Melissa Mays, LaQue Moen-Davis, Jordan Wilson

SP: Brea Garrett

DT: Jill Hydrick, Shelbi Vaughan

HT: Brea Garrett, Alison Odrusek

JT: Krystyn Bradley, Jean Deason, Kendall Munoz

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 254812441 -
Gray Television, Inc.