Aggies Still Under Consideration For BCS Bowl

By: SEC Digital Network
By: SEC Digital Network

IRVING, Texas -- The 10 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) conferences and four bowls today announced that 27 teams remain under consideration to participate in the five games that comprise the BCS.

The teams were identified during a teleconference among the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conference commissioners, the Notre Dame athletics director, and representatives from the Discover Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO. The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the final BCS Standings will meet in the VIZIO BCS National Championship Game January 6 in Pasadena.

The champions of the American Athletic, Atlantic Coast, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences automatically qualify for a BCS game. In addition, the highest-ranked conference champion from among Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt Conferences earns automatic qualification to one of the BCS games if that champion is ranked No. 12 or better in the final BCS Standings, or No. 16 or better if it is ranked higher than any champion from the American Athletic, ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 or Southeastern conferences. Notre Dame also qualifies automatically if it is ranked No. 8 or better.

At-large berths also will be available. The bowls will fill those berths from teams ranked in the top 14 of the final BCS Standings. No conference may place more than two teams in the BCS games, unless the conference has two teams in the National Championship Game, and neither team is its champion.

The final BCS Standings will be compiled Sunday, December 8. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8:30 p.m. Eastern time that day, on ESPN.

The champions from the six conferences which receive automatic spots in the BCS games have not been determined. The following is a list of teams still contending for their conferences’ automatic berths:

American: Central Florida, Cincinnati, Louisville

Atlantic Coast: Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (Fla.), Virginia Tech

Big Ten: Michigan State, Ohio State

Big 12: Baylor, Oklahoma State, Texas

Pac-12: Arizona State, Stanford

SEC: Alabama, Auburn, Missouri, South Carolina

In addition to those teams, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order): Clemson, Fresno State, LSU, Northern Illinois, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas A&M, Wisconsin.

Following is the schedule of the BCS games. All games will be televised on ESPN.

January 1 – Rose Bowl Presented by VIZIO

January 1 – Tostitos Fiesta Bowl

January 2 – Allstate Sugar Bowl

January 3 – Discover Orange Bowl

January 6 – VIZIO BCS National Championship Game

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 233507501 -
Gray Television, Inc.