Evans and Matthews Named 1st Team AP All-American

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

NEW YORK (AP) - Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley, Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton and Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey have been selected to The Associated Press All-America team for the second straight season.

Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston from Florida State added All-American to his resume after a spectacular redshirt freshman season. Heisman finalists Andre Williams from Boston College and Northern Illinois' Jordan Lynch also made the first team. Williams joins Carey in the backfield and Lynch, the dual-threat quarterback, was chosen as an all-purpose player.

Mosley, a senior, was the leading tackler for a defense that ranked fifth in the country in yards allowed per game. Sutton was named Pac-12 defensive player of the year for the season straight season. Carey is second in the nation in rushing after leading last year.

AP All-America First Team

Position Player Team Class
QB Jameis Winston Florida State Fr.
RB Andre Williams Boston College Sr.
RB Ka'Deem Carey Arizona Jr.
OT Jake Matthews Texas A&M Sr.
OT Cyrus Kouandijo Alabama Jr.
OG Cyril Richardson Baylor Sr.
OG David Yankey Stanford Sr.
C Bryan Stork Florida State Sr.
WR Brandin Cooks Oregon State Jr.
WR Mike Evans Texas A&M So.
TE Jace Amaro Texas Tech Jr.
All-Purpose Jordan Lynch Northern Illinois Sr.
K Roberto Aguayo Florida State Fr.
DE Michael Sam Missouri Sr.
DE Jackson Jeffcoat Texas Sr.
DT Aaron Donald Pittsburgh Sr.
DT Will Sutton Arizona State Sr.
LB Anthony Barr UCLA Sr.
LB C.J. Mosley Alabama Sr.
LB Ryan Shazier Ohio State Jr.
CB Darqueze Dennard Michigan State Sr.
CB Lamarcus Joyner Florida State Sr.
S Cody Prewitt Ole Miss Jr.
S Deone Bucannon Washington State Sr.
P Tom Hornsey Memphis Sr.

AP All-America Second Team

Position Player Team Class
QB Johnny Manziel Texas A&M So.
RB Tre Mason Auburn Jr.
RB Bishop Sankey Washington Jr.
OT Cameron Erving Florida State Jr.
OT Taylor Lewan Michigan Sr.
OG Gabe Jackson Mississippi State Sr.
OG Xavier Su'a-Filo UCLA Jr.
C Gabe Ikard Oklahoma Sr.
WR Sammy Watkins Clemson Jr.
WR Davante Adams Fresno State So.
TE Eric Ebron North Carolina Jr.
All-Purpose Ty Montgomery Stanford Jr.
K Anthony Fera Texas Sr.
DE Vic Beasley Clemson Jr.
DE Shilique Calhoun Michigan State So.
DT Timmy Jernigan Florida State Jr.
DT Kelcy Quarles South Carolina Jr.
LB Trent Murphy Stanford Sr.
LB Khalil Mack Buffalo Sr.
LB Chris Borland Wisconsin Sr.
CB Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State Sr.
CB Jason Verrett TCU Sr.
S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix Alabama Jr.
S Ahmad Dixon Baylor Sr.
P Drew Kaser Texas A&M So.

AP All-America Third Team

Position Player Team Class
QB AJ McCarron Alabama Sr.
RB Carlos Hyde Ohio State Sr.
RB Ameer Abdullah Nebraska Jr.
OT Jack Mewhort Ohio State Sr.
OT Gregory Johnson Auburn So.
OG John Urschel Penn State Sr.
OG Ryan Groy Wisconsin Sr.
C Reese Dismukes Auburn Jr.
WR Allen Robinson Penn State Jr.
WR Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt Sr.
TE Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington Jr.
All-Purpose Odell Beckham Jr. LSU Jr.
K Jeff Budzien Northwestern Sr.
DE Marcus Smith Louisville Sr.
DE Jeremiah Attaochu Georgia Tech Sr.
DT Ra'Shede Hageman Minnesota Sr.
DT Leonard Williams USC So.
LB Shayne Skov Stanford Sr.
LB Max Bullough Michigan State Sr.
LB Denicos Allen Michigan State Sr.
CB Ife Ekpre-Olomu Oregon Jr.
CB Vernon Hargreaves III Florida Fr.
S Jimmie Ward Northern Illinois Sr.
S Ty Zimmerman Kansas State Sr.
P Austin Rehkow Idaho Fr.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 236255011 - kbtx.com/a?a=236255011
Gray Television, Inc.