Jeff Long to Serve as Chairman of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee


IRVING, Texas - Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff, announced today that University of Arkansas vice chancellor and director of athletics Jeff Long will serve as the first Chairman of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee.

As chairman, Long will set the Selection Committee’s agenda and run the committee’s meetings. Long will also serve as spokesman for the committee alongside Bill Hancock.

“Jeff has vast experience in college football,” said Hancock. “People in intercollegiate athletics hold him in high regard. He is known for his insight, intelligence, wisdom, wit, judgment and calm demeanor. He’ll make a great chairman.”

Before going to Arkansas in 2007, Long had been director of athletics at Eastern Kentucky and Pittsburgh and has previously held coaching and administrative positions at Miami (Ohio), North Carolina State, Duke, Michigan, Rice, Virginia Tech and Oklahoma. Long has experience as an athletics director or senior administrator in many of the nation’s most prominent Football Bowl Subdivision conferences including the Big 12, Big Ten, Big East, Atlantic Coast and Southeastern conferences.

Long’s 35 years in college football began when he was a four-year football letterman at Ohio Wesleyan, where he also earned three letters in baseball.

Long earned a bachelor’s degree in economics from Ohio Wesleyan in 1982, and a master’s degree in education from Miami (Ohio) in 1983.

“I’m very humbled and honored to serve as the first chairman of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee,” said Long. “There is no doubt our task will be challenging. However, I am confident in the committee members’ ability to determine the four best teams in college football. I look forward to getting to work.”


About College Football Playoff
The College Football Playoff will begin with the 2014-15 season. The 2015 semifinals will be played January 1, 2015 at the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl. The first national championship game will be played January 12, 2015 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 227670961 -
Gray Television, Inc.